My Leopard OS does not run "Software Update"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by YS2003, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #1
    I have two accounts set up on one of my Macs: Administrator and normal user.

    I can run Software Update under my normal user account; but, when I log in my administrator account, it does not run Software Update. It just hangs with that small pop up window "Checking for new software..." I can run software update for MS Office and other software, though.

    Can you suggest any tip on fixing this?
     
  2. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #2
    Try deleting <user>/Library/Caches/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate
    Run a repair permissions and then restart
     
  3. YS2003 thread starter macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #3
    I could not find "com.apple.SoftwareUpdate" in that folder in my administrator account. I can still run Software Update with my normal user account by authenticating with my administrator password. But, I prefer updating software while I am logged in the administrator account.
     
  4. YS2003 thread starter macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #4

Share This Page