My LocalTalk-Ethernet-WiFi Network

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by tevion5, Dec 7, 2014.

  1. tevion5, Dec 7, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2014

    tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    I thought I would share some of the infrastructure I have set up to have my macs communicate with each other. Almost all of the Mac's you can see in my signature are able to access each other files.

    I currently use:

    • x3 Apple LocalTalk Adapter + Cables
    • x1 D-Link Ethernet Switch
    • x1 Assanté LocalTalk-Ethernet Adapter
    • x1 Apple Airport Snow
    • x1 Apple Airport Express (2nd Gen)
    • Various Ethernet Cables

    Here is a video where I very briefly demonstrate some of this equipment in action:



    The 512Ke and Classic II are connected via LocalTalk, the Power Macintosh 8600 is connected via Ethernet and the iMac G4 is connected via WiFi. Yet, everything can communicate flawlessly.

    assante.JPG

    Assanté 'AssantéTalk' LocalTalk- Ethernet Adapter


    routers.JPG

    Apple Airport Snow and Airport Express


    512kdesktop.JPG

    The AppleShare server list of my 512Ke, with the connected servers also visible on the desktop.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I think I will upload some more videos later and make a whole channel out of it. I have achieved quite a few interesting feats with all this stuff, especially forwarding the 512K and it's HD20 over FTP onto the internet. I'll post more over christmas!
     
  2. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Nice setup, thanks for sharing your work. Really neat to see all of this equipment talking to each other. I did something similar to this a few years back in my basement.

    Your pronunciation of ethernet was interesting to me. Everywhere I have been in the US the first E is long instead of short (as in read instead of lead). But I noticed you are from Ireland so I assume English is your second language.















    I'm joking of course. :)
     
  3. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Thanks for checking it out :)

    Glad to see that American ignorance isn't totally out of control :p
     
  4. lauragibs, Dec 8, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014

    lauragibs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
  5. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Thanks :)

    I'll make some more detailed and less rushed videos I a while. Networking this stuff gives me a kick like nothing else.
     
  6. bse5150 macrumors 6502

    bse5150

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #6
    I have an Asantetalk adapter kicking around as well, albeit without a power supply. It's just as well; I don't have a computer to use it with.
     
  7. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    I was surprised by how effortless it was to set up. Its a super little box. I just plugged it in and powered it up. Suddenly all my LocalTalk machines could see the ones on WiFi!

    Tricky to find for a decent price these days however, especially one that includes the power supply. I had been keeping an eye on eBay for almost a year before I got mine at a price I could justify.
     
  8. bse5150 macrumors 6502

    bse5150

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #8
    I'm looking for a Classic II to use with mine. My Quadras all use ethernet.
     
  9. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    I need to get around to replacing the Caps on my Classic II. I cleaned the board of acid, but it still takes more than 10 minutes to warm up before it boots...
     
  10. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #10
    If you're desperate, don't forget Apple released the originally commercial product "LocalTalk Bridge" for free.

    You could use a machine with Ethernet and Din8 serial ports as a bridge.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1258
     
  11. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    I thought about using this on my 8600 for a while, but i decided against it because it would mean having to run system 7, always leaving it on when networking and a general waste of electricity. It's a great tool if you have an appropriate mac, but I think it's easier and more cost effective to get a hardware bridge.

    The same with any type of bridging, such as PPPoE and Modems. A hardware solution is always more reliable than a software one. Less headaches from garbage Chinese software.
     
  12. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #12
    I totally agree. I used it in the workshop with a 20foot serial cable so I could get updates off the server for client machines that lacked ethernet. It's not the best, but it did work with MacOS 8.1 on a G3 Desktop.
     
  13. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #13
    That made me laugh out loud. Excellent work. For that, you shall receive your choice of a tomato or a potato. :D
     
  14. Mk.558 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #14
    re: LocalTalk Bridge

    LocalTalk Bridge will work perfectly fine in later Mac OSs. I have used it in OS 9 with AppleShare IP 6.3 because AppleShare IP cannot provide shares via the serial port.

    May I inquire what you use to share out the HD20 to the outside world? NCSA Telnet? Rumpus 3.5?
     
  15. Mk.558 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
  16. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    I believe I answered this exact question somewhere before. I was guilty of double posting so the mods deleted a mountain of my posts in both of those threads recently. Knocked me back a whole rank xD.

    Anyway, I use EasyShare on the 512Ke to mount an AppleShare share on the PM8600, then I share that share using the FTP client Rumpus. This is then publicly accessible on the Internet.
     
  17. Mk.558 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #17
    Oh okay so just the same thing that "napabar" has talked about on 68kmla and his site. Just wanted to make sure there wasn't some new combo or trick I haven't heard about yet. :)
     
  18. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    Like I said in the end of my video, this is Niles Mitchell's (napabar) method for getting the 512Ke online.
     

Share This Page