my mac asks for my user and password on a black screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by taminezj, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. taminezj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    Hi,
    I just recently upgraded my safari ( or something else don't quiet remember but i got the newer version of something) it asked to restart my computer to complete the download... well I don't quiet remember my user and password... I know I know... sorry but I'm pregnant and my memory sucks. So it gives me this black screen asking my info like

    Darwin/DSB ( my initials) ( console)
    LOGIN: know it now( my husband told me what it was)
    password:forgot

    then it just repeats it self... can someone please help me... my baby's due date is pretty near.. and I have a lot of work !

    thanks for reading and helping!

    Z
     
  2. jayla macrumors newbie

    jayla

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    So how did you stole this mac ?
     
  3. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    so basically you forgot you login and password ?
     
  4. xi mezmerize ix macrumors 6502a

    xi mezmerize ix

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #4
    Well to get a stolen computer working I think you need to replace the hard drive and completely drain the battery to clear any data on the RAM.
     
  5. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #5
    BS!!! Login and password has nothing to do with hardware features of the machine. It is an OS thing.

    Try booting into single user mode and this trick http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20080414140636495 but I am not sure if it still works on 10.6.
     
  6. taminezj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #6
    hi mmulin

    after doing all those steps its asking me to me
    Localhost:/root#

    what is that?
    what do I do afterwards....
    thank you for helping.
    Z
     
  7. taminezj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #7
    HI mmulin,

    i do fine from step 1-2
    but at 3 it asks for localhost:/root# (i type) launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServices.plist ( then it'll ask me again for "localhost:/root#) hmmmmmm its kinda frustrating me...

    thanks for your help!
    Z

    Boot into single user mode (press Command-S at power on)
    Type fsck -fy
    Type mount -uw /
    Type launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServices.plist
    Type dscl . -passwd /Users/username password, replacing username with the targeted user and password with the desired password.
    Reboot
     
  8. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #8
    Sounds like your install is borked, may be a bad harddrive. You should do a repair install (archive and install?) from your restore dvds.
     
  9. taminezj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    so do you suggest I use the cds to start up ?
     
  10. taminezj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #11
    is there any way around the installer cds?
    I'm a bit tight on cash .. don't think I can buy it.

    Thanks all for all your help _
    greatly appreciated
     
  11. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    The installer disks came with your mac:rolleyes:

    I don't think you are being honest with us personally....I mean who forgets their own login and password....and then also does not have the system restore disks? I think this is a classic case of trying to use a stolen computer where you will get no such help
     
  12. taminezj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #13
    well I know my username but not my password...
     
  13. taminezj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #14
    after writing the lauchctl ... ...

    it says nothing found to load :(
     
  14. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #15
    That is ok. If you don't get an error message after step #3, it just means it successfully ran the command. The thing you "see" is just the Unix command prompt. It actually doesn't ask you anything. Continue from there with step #4.

    (I am in a different timezone. So sorry, my reply comes late)
     
  15. jayla macrumors newbie

    jayla

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16

    Guess I was right. Too many naive people here. Come on. Can't you just see it.
     

Share This Page