my mac? .. does it need update?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kirsty1105, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. kirsty1105 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #1
    im new on here and dont really knows how to use it so sorrie if this is in the wrong place. i have a imac, bought it off some guy .. but it only lets me go on certain websites, like if i go on youtube or facebook it crashes.. plus i can only get the green itunes.. if this because its old and needs updating? .. i think it is on pantha atm.. do i need snow leopard to make these websites work?
    Plus if i get snow leopard will i have to go through the stages.. like pantha to tiger to leopard or can i just jump straight to snow leopard??
    Thank youu :)
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Go to :apple: > About This Mac

    [​IMG]

    to find out what Mac you have and what Mac OS X version is on it. Post the results here and we can help you more.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    What Mac do you have? I assume it's PPC so Leopard is the newest you can install
     
  4. kirsty1105 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #4
    mac 0s x
    version.. 10.3.9
    processpr.. 1.8ghz power pc gs
    memory.. 1gb ddr sdram

    have know idea what all that meens tho..
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) or Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) are the best options, but they still cost a lot via eBay.

    Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) will not run on your machine.


    That is the Mac OS X version number, it's Mac OS X 10.3.9

    That'e is the name of the processor (CPU - Central Processing Unit) and the clock speed: It's a G5 CPU with 1.8GHz clock speed. The G5 is an older CPU made by IBM and used the PowerPC architecture, which was abandoned for Macs in 2005/6.


    That is the amount of memory you have, 1GB DDR SDRAM. The memory hold active applications and documents in it so that you can access them faster.

    If you go to www.everymac.com you can find more specs and see that you can add more RAM (memory) to it, if you want.


    PS: Please use better spelling in the future, as it enhances readability and comprehension. You don't wanna end like the ones posting on www.lamebook.com, do you?
     
  6. kirsty1105 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #6
    thank you :) .. will that solve my problems with the websites not working ?
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Mac OS X 10.4 or 10.5 might work better, but YouTube might still stutter with HD video.

    Do you know anyone that knows the way around Mac OS X, so that s/he can help you setup your new OS installation?
     
  8. kirsty1105 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #8
    nah no one knows owt about macs here :p .. and youtube doesnt stutter it just wont upload the page and then i will have to force quit it
     

Share This Page