my mac doesn't have a password and terminal is asking for one

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by enka, May 9, 2008.

  1. enka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #1
    Hello, i want to uninstall program (virtual box) and the only way to this is, is with the terminal.
    Now i haven't installed a password in my computer, but the terminal is asking me for a password....and because i don't have one i just hit enter, but it's incorrect.
    what to do?!
     
  2. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #2
    If you never set a root password in Terminal, it should be prompting you to set one, not asking you for an existing one. Have you tried the administrator password?

    You can reset the password(s) by booting from the installation DVD that came with your computer and going to the Utilities Menu after you get past the first screen.
     
  3. enka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #3
    hi, and thanks for replying so fast.
    that's the thing i have no passwords at all, on purpose, also no admin password nothing. only my name nothing else.

    gr
     
  4. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #4
    That's impossible (well highly improbable - I never tried to leave a blank password at initial setup so I don't know if it would allow you to do this) if you set up the Mac. It requires an admin password to be set at initial set up. Are you the admin or did someone else set it up for you?

    You may have set it initially and forgot it as your login may be set to automatically log you in (thus it doesn't ask you for a password and goes straight to your desktop.

    You should do what I instructed you to do in my previous post using the installation DVD to reset ALL passwords (your account, admin password, root password) and write them down somewhere. Keep them simple (they can all be the same if you so desire) so you can remember them.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    *gasp*

    I'll support the DVD boot password reset solution as well. I don't understand why a user wouldn't want a password.
     
  6. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #6
    Thanks for the link in your reply to this thread. I read the thread and I stand corrected - you can setup the system with no passwords. I wasn't aware of this since I never tried it. Not to insult the OP, but this is not a smart thing to do.
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    sudo does not allow for a blank password, which is undoubtedly the problem here. When prompted for a password from sudo, if one simply hits Return, sudo assumes that the user has given up.

    Original Poster: Having a (good) password is a VERY IMPORTANT DETAIL in modern computing.

    Beyond that, if you must have a "real" password to do what you want.
     
  8. enka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #8
    okay thank you all for replying.

    but as i said previously, i did that on purpose, i'm very aware how i installed my computer. and off course it is possible to set up a system without an admin password. since i'm the only one using it is saves time with starting up, plus i'm fed up having thousands of passwords here and there.
    anyway i found the answer i was looking for and it's actually that sudo does not allow a blank password. if i knew that i wouldn't have done it.

    thanks again
    gr
     
  9. ReggaeFire macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    #9
    If it's that important to you, just set a password, run the Terminal commands, then go back and change the password back to nothing.
     
  10. enka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #10
    thanks ReggaeFire for the tip, it wordked!
     
  11. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #11
    Just leave the password on, it wont ask you it at startup, mine doesn't only if you choose it to in sys pref. This aint windows ;)
     

Share This Page