My Mac is infected with a very pesky malware. HELP!

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by whohasaquestion, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. whohasaquestion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    #1
    Have a look at these screenshots.

    I tried stopped some of processes but it still shows up. I removed it from the "login item" last night but I still get popups today. How do I screen capture all the CPU processes? Attached is just the top portion of CPU processes.

    Any idea on how removing this pesky Malware? And yes, I've googled it up to no avail.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    Download and run this: https://www.malwarebytes.com/mac/
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
    Consider a good adblocker as well (Adguard pro).
     
  4. kappaz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #4
  5. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    I suggest that the OP DON'T use Sophos.
    I suggest that the OP try MalwareBytes Anti-Malware for Mac instead.

    Then, report back here with the results.
     
  6. dlopan macrumors member

    dlopan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    #6
    Sophos takes over the computer, I have tried and failed, machine was so busy with it couldn't do anything else. use the old Malware bytes if you can get it. That one was free
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    "use the old Malware bytes if you can get it. That one was free"

    The NEW one is "free", too.
    Don't be misled by how it works.
    You can download and use it free for 30 days.
    In the meantime, it will ask if you want to "upgrade to the paid version".
    JUST DECLINE TO DO SO.
    After 30 days, it's supposed to revert back to being "the free version".
     
  8. pennbank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #8
    Find no problem with sophos home which is free
     
  9. whohasaquestion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    #9
    Thanks to everyone's response. I downloaded the free version of malwarebyte and the issue is gone!

    I've been having this Mac for 6 years, it was my first time needing a virus or rather a malware scanner on OS X. Yeah...not sure I can say the same thing on window platform.

    I am a happy man once again. :)
     
  10. pennbank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #10
    Perhaps now then you should consider sophos free home edition for mac
    https://home.sophos.com/mac
    I have always used it since having my mac and found it great. No problems with it what so ever,
    Always feeling safe online with the protection offered.
    Perhaps you should stop believing those mac people who say mac never has viruses !!!
    Proof of the pudding is in the eating.
     
  11. MattXDA macrumors 6502

    MattXDA

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    He hasn't had a virus in 6 years and got it removed in minutes. There's no need to run something in the background using up resources for such a non-issue
     
  12. pennbank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #12
    thats your view, Minor issue this time, whats next time ?
     
  13. Jamovik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #13
    Are you employed by Sophos, pennbank? I've used Malware Bytes on my Windows computer for years and have had no issues with it. It's very effective and I have also recommend it to friends and family. It. Just. Works.
     
  14. pennbank, Oct 2, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2017

    pennbank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #14
    No nothing to do with Sophos. just use the Free Home Edition on my Mac, I have no problem with it and it hardly uses any resources especially the new Home edition.
     

Share This Page

13 September 26, 2017