My Mac is Super Slow all of a sudden!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by HappyDude20, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #1
    With my 2006 whitebook it wouldn't get this slow, ever. I've had my 13inch MBP since August and for the past few weeks have seen it get soooo slow. Spinning beach ball all the time now, doing the simpliest things like opening a new tab in Firefox.

    I've included some photos from activity monitor but am confused myself.

    Apps that are normally open are FF, iTunes, OmniFocus, and calendar. @ times i'll open iMovie to import and edit an HD movie i've filmed but i can understand the slowness then.

    Anything i may be missing or a fix i can do?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bmcgonag macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    I don't know] this for sure, but it looks like iTunes is eating up your system process...more than iMovie, and that's a bit weird to me.

    Other than that...not sure. But Quit all apps, Restart Finder, and see if your Mem and CPU usage drops. Then start them one at a time for normal use, and see where it really starts to whine...then consider a repair or reinstall of that software...maybe.
     
  3. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #3
    I just got home from class, the mbp has been on for 24 hours. I've included screenshots as well. Still slow. How can almost a whole gig be active in use when all ive got open is Firefox and OmniFocus? Or this all normal?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
  5. smogsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #5
    lot of people i know have been saying the same about there mac everything they has in common was FireFox. it seems the lastest update slows FF considerably.

    try using Safari for a few hours instead of FF (reboot first) see it its still slow
     
  6. intheknow macrumors newbie

    intheknow

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Try running an app called rember it will tell you if there are any faults with your ram.
     
  7. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #7
    I'd concur with the sentiment that Firefox is the culprit, based on the fact that it always slowed my Macs down ('06 whitebook, '09 iMac). Part of that may have been that I run a lot of add-ons through it, but frankly, if I can't use add-ons with Firefox then I have no reason to use it, period.

    Safari is a superior browser anyway, imho. Best thing to do is download Chrome and try that instead, probably not a popular opinion to share on a Mac forum, but that browser is lightning fast and super slick and I reckon the best browser out there (even if it isn't fully finished yet). ;)
     
  8. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #8
    Another in agreement that it might be FF, but I like the addons too much to switch. Hopefully FF 4 will solve any memory issues.
     
  9. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #9
    I'd love to use Chrome, however add-ons aren't supported yet on Macs but mainly it doesn't support 1Password yet which is a huge deal for me.

    I know Safari does support 1Password so i'm more inclined to go that way, however admittedly I've never been a fan of Safari simply due to their lack of keyboard shortcuts. If Safari had the same keyboard shortcuts are FF, i'd be sold. Such examples include tab switching, etc.

    But I do agree FF may be to blame. it's always on!
     
  10. bmcgonag macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    If it's firefox...would some of the add-ons work in Camino (also by mozilla)? I used to use it on my MbP and it ran much better.
     

Share This Page