My Mac Mini just died

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by vandrv, Sep 22, 2017.

1. vandrv macrumors regular

I have a late 2012 mini that just died. It is the quad core I7 with 16 gigs of ram. It was running when I left for work this morning and when I got home it was dead. I tried rebooting it and it chimes but goes no further. Pressing te option key makes no difference. I am using a Samsung 250 gig SSD as the boot drive but it also has the original hard drive installed so I should be able to boot from there, but there is no screen to be able to change this. Any ideas as to how to proceed. I am not a particularly techie guy. If it needs to be repaired I would appreciate opinions as to whether it is worth fixing. I'm not too worried about losing anything on the computer. Thanks for any help

2. vandrv thread starter macrumors regular

--- Post Merged, Sep 23, 2017 ---
    I left the computer unplugged for a couple of hours and it booted up normally. I wonder do minis have something in them that causes them to shutdown if they overheat? It was quite warm to the touch when I got home.

3. Phil in ocala Suspended

Phil in ocala

Buy DiskWarrior.....best for Mac ever...you must buy on line they send you a thumb drive with the software inside to boot from.

4. Micky Do macrumors 68000

Micky Do

Same for my first Mac Mini, the 2005 original. I figured it might be the power supply, but put up with it for several months. I had been in the habit of shutting down at the end of the day, but then took to putting it to sleep instead, which incidentally is recommended practice by Apple. Eventually, when the HDD failed, I took it in to the shop to get checked. They confirmed the power supply was the problem.