My Mac missing software?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by computerman-8, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. computerman-8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #1
    I was looking into which programs came with my new MacBook Pro and I was wondering if it's normal that XCode 2 and Comic Life doesn't come with it. My friends have them with their older Macs.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Have you reinstalled OS X on your machine?

    The Developer Tools come on the OS X installer DVDs as well.
     
  3. computerman-8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #3
    I didn't reinstall OS X ever since I got it. So if it just put the DVD in the drive and reinstall the bundled or extra software of Disc 1, would that work?

    Thanks.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    That would work. You should be able to customize what applications are installed as well.
     
  5. computerman-8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #5
    Give it a try and didnt find anything with XCode or Comic Life. I gave them a call and aparently Comic Life doesn't come from apple and XCode only comes with a higher version. Oh well.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    XCode would be under Developer Tools on the installer DVD.

    There's a chance that since it's a MacBook Pro it doesn't come with Comic Life.
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    XCode is never installed by the installer. Sometimes they put an XCode installer in Applications, sometimes you just have to find it on the DVD and install it yourself. This is because it takes a lot of disk space and 90% of users never use it! I'd recommend not using the version they give you anyway: it's never up to date. Go to developer.apple.com and download the latest version. If you don't already have one you'll have to sign up for a free developer account.

    Regarding Comic Life: this is a third party application. Apple change their third party bundles over time (and bundle different apps with their consumer and pro machines sometimes). Just because your friends got it does not mean that you are meant to have.
     
  8. Quiara macrumors regular

    Quiara

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #8
    My MacBook didn't come with Comic Life, either, but I'm not surprised. Apple cycles through their included software bundles whenever they feel like it. ^_^
     
  9. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Torontoland
    #9
    I bought a new iMac a few months back and it had Comic Life installed. I returned it after two weeks for a new one after some dead pixel issues. I notice now that my new one doesn't have it.
     
  10. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #10
    There is an app called Pacifist that will let you install apps off the Tiger Install DVDs. Generally you cannot get to say... iMovie if you accidentally delete it or screw it up, but you can with Pacifist. Try that and see if Comic Life is there.
     
  11. thegrandmaster macrumors regular

    thegrandmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Location:
    Valhalla!
    #11
    Just FYI my 2.4 Macbook Pro did come with Comic Life pre-installed.
     
  12. kennied macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #12
    I have a MBP SR - and in Garageband I miss all the loops.... is this normal? This is my 4th MBP SR. I originally ordered one in july, but the tree first were faulty - on these I had the loops... Has Apple suddenly decided to not include these?
     
  13. computerman-8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #13
    Mine by default didn't come with them built in.. when I clicked one of the loops it asked me to download or install from DVD. Just choose to run the install from the DVD and the loops will be in.
     
  14. kennied macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #14
    GREAT! Thanks!

    So, I just click the "install..." option, and the system will tell me what to do? I tried popping in the discs, but couldnt find any garageband related files....
     
  15. cogsinister macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #15
    I have the same problem.....where are the missing loops ?
     
  16. computerman-8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #16
    When the loops warn't installed on my Garage Band they were clickable but would say that they arn't installed. It showed me 3 options and the last one was to install from DVD and then it asked me to insert the DVD #2. So they should be on the 2nd DVD somewhere.

    Also another way to get your loops I think is to put the first DVD in and do a custom or advance install and under Garage Band there is a unchecked box that are the loops.

    Good Luck
     
  17. Trepex macrumors 6502a

    Trepex

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #17
    This might sounds stupid, but just as an FYI...

    When you pop in the Tiger install media and the window pops up, don't do what I did and smash your head against a wall wondering where the damned Developer tools are. I was tricked by the neatly arranged icons that greet you when the finder window opens, and it took me quite a while to realize that you have to scroll down to see a lot of other icons on the disc.

    haha as I said, it might sound stupid, but I have talked to many others who did the same thing as me. :p
     
  18. computerman-8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #18
    lol, didn't even notice that there was a slider.. still didn't find anything with the missing software but I downloaded it from developer.apple.com I thaught you had to pay for being a developer but aguess not.

    Comic Life isn't a big deal for me I have Photoshop.
     
  19. Trepex macrumors 6502a

    Trepex

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #19
    Haha yeah it's weird huh :p
     
  20. newmacchick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #20
    Comic life did come installed on my system (2.2 MBP)...man that is weird.
     

Share This Page