My MAC Pro 2008 eats hard drives

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by oz1, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. oz1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #1
    I am setting up hard drives in a new mac pro 2008 octocore.

    I have installed 3 x 1TB WD Black drives in bays 2, 3 & 4. The ones in bays 3 & 4 are fine. The drive in bay 2 installed OK but next day had disappeared from the desktop. I fired up disk utility which recognised that a device was present but it was not recognised as a WD drive. Instead, it just said "media" with capacity of 0 bytes. I sent the WD drive back to the supplier who gave me a replacement. I installed that in bay 2 & exactly the same thing happened.

    I tried the dead drive in an external USB case & had the same. I also tried it on a PC which crashed on boot.

    i got on to Applecare who said that I had either 2 bad drives (pretty unlikely) or a dodgy bay 2 socket & I should try another drive ($160 a time - great!). With some trepidation, I moved one of my good HDs into bay 2 as a test & it's been running OK for 3 days which suggests that the socket is OK.

    Would appreciate any bright ideas as two consecutive HD failures seems unlikely.
     
  2. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    don't leave us hanging!
     
  3. oz1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #3
    Will try not to. The second dead HD has gone back to the supplier "for investigation" but they are implying that it's my fault. I bought another HD from another supplier but it ain't a WD.
     
  4. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Ah. Your post was initially missing the last sentence.

    Anyway, I don't find it at all odd that two drives would fail. I have three systems with 4-drive RAID, and another system with 2-drive RAID. I've had a couple of drives DOA, and have had to replace failed drives about once a year.

    Luck of the draw. I'm about to buy another 10 drives to upgrade some of the systems, and I'd be shocked if they all last more than a week.
     
  5. oz1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #5
    That's appalling. I have had 10 Seagates running in various PCs for the last 6 years & never had a single failure. Maybe I should have stuck with them but i heard some negative stuff about Seagate quality of late. Anyways, the next two drives will be Samsungs
     
  6. jons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #6
    Hard drive of all type and brand fail all the time. The failure rate is actually quite high. In your case I wouldn't think two in a row would be bad. Maybe an problem with the drive's firmware?

    FWIW, I have used Seagate drives for 10 years and only once had a bad one, and it went bad over time, it wasn't DOA. I have had several WDs as well, and all have been good.
     
  7. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I only ever use Seagates.

    Like I said, luck of the draw. That's why I always use raid 1 or raid 5. Drive goes down, I pull it out, swap in a new one, and go exercise my seagate warranty. Never even have to shut down the NAS. :) (I am willing to take the risk and assume another drive won't go down while I'm rebuilding the array.)
     
  8. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    You know about the firmware fiasco with the Black drives right? They blew chunks with the firmware code that caused a bunch of data integrity problems after the drives are in use for a little while but not right away. You're problem might be related. I guess you can flash the drives - I dunno I've never flashed firmware onto a drive before. But if you got a couple of the ones from the lots that were bad that might explain it. I dunno if there's a way to tell by serial number or not but if there is there's probably a web-site somewhere that lists the bad ranges. Anyway, this might be something worth looking into. Have a search.
     
  9. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I thought that was the seagate 1.5's
     
  10. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #10
    I'm remembering wrong? Hmm, could be. OK, or as Roseanne Roseanna Danna would say: "Nevermind..." :)

    I thought for sure that was the 1TB Black tho. :-/
     
  11. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #11
    I think they both had 'issues' - WD with integrity and Seagate with Dog-slow performance.

    (no personal exp with the WD's but I had 6 of the 1.5 seagates that were lemons for about 8weeks until I got the second firmware update (SD1A sucked melons, but SD1B is whoooosh in the Mac Pro) ..

    still this is a never ending cycle - every so often one manufacturer is the worst for some reason or another. Then it changes around.

    :D
     
  12. ekwipt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #12
    Be careful, my logic board was stuffed on my macpro and it "ate" 3 hd when i 1st bought it had to replace logic board to fix the issue
     
  13. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #13
    Thanks Costabunny,

    Leave it to the Maltites to straighten things out! :)
     

Share This Page