My mac pro got a little brother!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macpropro80, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Macpropro80 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #1
    Today I brought home a little brother for my mac pro. An Original Power Macintosh 7100/66 with original screen, mouse and keyboard, as well as all the floppies. I got it for a whooping $0.00. My school found 1 when they were cleaning out the storage, and they asked me if I wanted it or it would go in the garbage. My mac pro is very happy to meet its new little bro.

    It has 80mbs of Storage, Not sure if thats Ram or HD space, but it has 3.5 mbs remaining on the HD. It takes about 3-5 minutes to boot up OS 8.1!

    UPDATE: This machine might be a little special, its model number 112, meaning it was one of the first 200 ever made for this model!

    I found system profiler:

    66MHz CPU
    80MB is the disk space not the ram
     
  2. iSaygoodbye macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #2
    sweet! add pictures
     
  3. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #3
    BTW: It cant multitask AT ALL! IF more then 1 window is open at once it comes to a crawl. LOL
     
  4. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    Shouldn't take that long too boot should it? Since it was a school computer the software has probably been screwed around with a lot. If you can get ahold of 8.6 or 9.1 even, those should run on it. Must post pics. :)
     
  5. SimD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #5
    Don't you mean your Mac Pro meets it's great-great-great-great-grand father?
     
  6. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #6
    does 9.1 come in floppy form? it only has a floppy disk!
     
  7. Outsider macrumors regular

    Outsider

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Damn that's an old one! You should reformat the HD and reload it from scratch. Even my ancient 6100/60 could load OS 8 in about a minute. :)

    How much RAM does it have?
     
  8. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
  9. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    RAM. :) If it hasn't been upgraded, Mactracker says it has 8MB built-in on the logicboard, with 4 RAM slots for expansion. Integrated RAM? Interesting! Also says it comes with a 2X CD-ROM, but I guess that was optional.
     
  10. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #10
    80 MB of ram

    It is one of the super first ones built for this model, its number 112! :eek: So it was bought on launch day probably or even pre ordered.
    I also go the studio display with it, the keyboard and mouse. And I know where to get the original speakers.
     

Share This Page