my mac won't boot after upgrading to SSD

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by johar, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. johar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #1
    Hi ,

    i have upgrade my mac mini to SSD after booting i chose to boot from USB but it win't load it freeze at apple logo i left it for one night when i came back it was the same this issue happened to me two years ago and i ended up with apple authorised and they charge me 200$ the said this was logo problem

    i tried to start form recovery Command + R it start ( Starting Internet Recovery ) and is freeze at apple logo

    any idea how to fix it
     
  2. Algus macrumors regular

    Algus

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    Have you pulled the original drive or simply added the SSD?

    Booting from the USB takes a long time but if you left it on overnight and it still hadn't loaded then it sounds like something else is going on.

    Did the machine work fine before you swapped the internal drive?
     
  3. johar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #3
    yes i have and it was working fine before

    and i tried to boot the flash in another mac and it boots up fine
     
  4. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #4
    Soo, did you clone your HDD to the new SSD? Clean install OS X on to the SSD? Use the option key to see what is bootable? Just trying to see what you did exactly. I typically use Disk Utility and clone the HDD to the SSD and then swap the drives. Then select the new drive as the boot volume and all is well. Or clean install if it's an older Mac with junk on it from over the years.

    What OS X version are you using and what year Mini is this? I recently upgraded a 2010, 2012, and 2014 models to SSDs at work and have had no problems with any of them so far.
     
  5. johar, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016

    johar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #5
    i used clean install and i used the option key and this is what i get

    IMG_1185.JPG

    and


    it freeze here it won't go further i tried ( command + R ) to load from recovery and also stuck in the same screen

    IMG_1184.JPG


    i'm trying to access Disk Utility to format my mac

    my mac is (mid 2010) and I'm trying to install El Capitan or Mavericks
     
  6. Celerondon macrumors 6502a

    Celerondon

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #6
    Did you make any progress with that Mac johar?
     
  7. MrAverigeUser, Jan 23, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2016

    MrAverigeUser macrumors 6502a

    MrAverigeUser

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    #7
    First:
    You are not alone, seems to happen often.

    second:
    Have a look if the Disk connection is correctly done, a week ago this solved the problem of someone else with the mini

    If you still have your old HDD with the "OLD" data:
    Disconnect USB and SSD, then
    reinstall the HDD into the machine, start the machine. Then clone the HDD with Carbon Copy Cloner onto the SSD - and exchange the two disks. It should run.

    here is a detailed description what to do:

     
  8. johar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #8
    No nothing
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2016 ---

    I did but back the hdd but when it finish loading it just freeze at appel logo

    And also i ran Linux live usb to check the ram and the ssd it was working and i can accesses the ssd and the files
     
  9. MrAverigeUser macrumors 6502a

    MrAverigeUser

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    #9
    You did a PRAM/VVRAM reset?
     
  10. johar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #10
    Yes i did
     
  11. xtrips macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #11
    Similar problem here.
    I prepped a bootable installer flashdrive with El Capitan.
    I installed a new empty SSD drive in my MAC mini (2009).
    The flashdrive loads and the whole installation process runs smoothly.
    But after reboot when it should load from the SSD it just stays stuck at the Apple.
    I don't know what to do.
     
  12. Edwin_teens_mode macrumors newbie

    Edwin_teens_mode

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    #12
    looks like im not alone... What the SSD brand that all of you using? im stuck With 2 brands already. 1st is Corsair SSD LS series and Kingston SUV series. i think is it because all of them use the TLC? because all of the my old SSD is working fine. i try any combination, i clone the SSD that working good to the new one, i reinstall elcapitan 10.11.4 and 10.11.5, i also clone the Hardrive that work with that machine (running in mountain lion) still doesnt work. Please any help or maybe progress? thanks
     
  13. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #13
    If you have a Mac between 2007-2010, check to see what SATA chipset you have. Hold the Option(Alt) key down and click on the Apple Icon at the top left. Select "System Information". Under Hardware, click on SATA... and in the upper right are the SATA chipsets used. If you have the NVidia MCP79 (or the MCP89 - there were fewer problems with that that one), then some SSD's either are slow (SATA1 vs. SATA2) or have problems. What's the brand/model of the working SSD?
     
  14. Edwin_teens_mode macrumors newbie

    Edwin_teens_mode

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    #14
    Mine is MCP79, but still wont work. this is very wierd.i install many macintosh with this method and just now the problem come out. now i try to install using snowleopard DVD DL to the Kingston SSD. hope it will work well.
     
  15. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #15
    The MCP79 is the chipset with the most problems. There have been people in the forums here who have said they had problems with different Corsair's but they didn't come back to confirm that the MCP79-Corsair combination was the problem and there is nothing definitive on the web saying that there is a problem. I don't know about the Kingston. The Samsung 850's (Pro and Evo) and the recent Crucial (MX, BX, M series) work. Those with the Sandforce controller and the SanDisks as well as OCZ Trion's have issues.
     
  16. Edwin_teens_mode macrumors newbie

    Edwin_teens_mode

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    #16
    Can you share the link? I ever use Sandisk x400, Kingston v300, corsair GS and GT , patriot ssd all of them it's running good. Now I'm using recovery from network method. I think there is a problem if we just clone it. First the MacBook need to connect to the Internet for eligibility hardware. It's just a hypothesis I don't know if it's right or not. But hope this method will work
     
  17. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #17
    I have a Kingston in my 2009 mini with the MCP79, and it works like a charm.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #18
    You have a lot of different SSD's and several have worked internally with your Mac with the MCP79. So - if there is a SSD that does not work internally but does work externally (enclosure or docking station), then the most likely cause is a MCP79 incompatibility.

    In terms of specific SSD's, I think the Corsair's that people reported not working (but again, they only reported it as not working and did not return to confirm that it was a MCP79 problem vs. something else) were Force LS & LE drives. Several SanDisk's have issues - I have only noticed the SanDisk X300 & X400 recently and I don't recall anybody asking about them so I don't know why they don't seem to be as popular as their other SSD's here in the US. It's good to know about your experience with the Corsair GS/GT and the SanDisk X300/X400.
     
  19. Edwin_teens_mode macrumors newbie

    Edwin_teens_mode

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    #19
    Update!!! It works with x400. I think it's because the MCP79. I not yet try to other MacBook with the ssd that can't be installed. Later I'll be post another progress
    --- Post Merged, May 23, 2016 ---
    I think it's because you are using Sv300 Kingston. The new one is SUV300. I don't know is it different internally or it just rebrand. In my experience. I already do bunch of installation in sv300 and all of them it's ok. And this is my 1st time get problem with SUV300. I not yet try in my hackintoshes. But last time it just boot into the ssd using legacy mode using clover with El Capitan inside.
    --- Post Merged, May 23, 2016 ---
    I think you are right. Might be the problem is from the MCP79. I'm keep searching is it because the ssd using TLC or what. I just think that because now a days many cheap ssd are made with Tlc before they are using Mac that cache with SLC ssd.
     
  20. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #20
    The Crucial BX200 uses TLC and it works at SATA2 with the MCP79 so some TLC drives will work with the MCP79. It's a controller issue - some controller's don't work well or at all with the MCP79.
     
  21. biker4mac macrumors member

    biker4mac

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Location:
    South Central Pennsylvania
    #21
    Should have done some research before I bought an OWC 480GB Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive for my Early 2009 Mac Mini. After reading through this, the Mini has the NVidia MCP79.

    I replaced the optical drive with a DataDoubler and second HDD some time ago when the optical drive crapped out. So I used CCC to clone my boot drive to the SSD using an external drive dock. I opened up the Mini and initially put the SSD in the lower bay with the HDD boot drive in the upper bay. I figured I’d make sure everything was working and then reformat the HDD and use it for archive files. But only the HDD could be seen and the SSD showed as an “unknown device.”

    Pulled things apart and checked all my connections to make sure something wasn’t loose. Same results - unknown device for the SSD. Pulled everything apart and put the HDD back in the lower bay and the SSD in the upper bay. Same results - unknown device for the SSD. Started to worry that I had toasted the SSD, so pulled it out and put it back in the drive dock - everything worked fine.

    I talked to OWC today. Even though I had tried the SSD in both upper and lower bays, they insisted that if the SSD worked in the drive dock it was fine and that I should replace the SATA cable in the Mini as that had to be the culprit. The lower bay doesn’t have a cable, so that clearly isn’t the issue…

    Is there anything that can be done to make this SSD work? Or is the only option to use one of the SSDs that is said to work with the MCP79?
     
  22. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #22
    The OWC 3G was made for computers that only have SATA2 capabilities and on the web, that seems to be the case, even if the system uses the MCP79. Have you tried the SSD in an external enclosure or docking station? If it's recognized, does it show as being the 3G (vs. the 6G). (You will have to watch out for enclosures and docking stations, some won't work with SSD's. If your enclosure is UASP-compliant, it should recognize the SSD.)
     
  23. biker4mac macrumors member

    biker4mac

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Location:
    South Central Pennsylvania
    #23
    As I noted, it works in an external docking station and it also works in my Mac Pro. It is just inside the Mini (either bay) that I’m having issues.
     
  24. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #24
    Connect the SSD via USB and open up the Disk Utility application. The model name should show up. Usually the name is too long to fit in the column so you'll have to select the disk and the full name will appear (it will appear in different places in the El Capitan Disk Utility vs. earlier OSX versions). If it shows up as the 6G, that's probably why you're having issues. If it does show up as the 3G, given that 1) the HDD works in both bays; 2) you have replaced the cable; 3) you use the OWC Data Doubler; 4) the SSD works externally; I would return the SSD and ask for a refund. There are SATA3 drives that do work with the MCP79, the Samsung 850's probably being the most popular (on Amazon, the Evo 850 is cheaper than the OWC 3G).

    The reason why I suggest doing this is perhaps the drive was mislabeled - asking the SSD what it is vs. looking at the label is more reliable, IMO.
     
  25. Edwin_teens_mode macrumors newbie

    Edwin_teens_mode

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    #25
    Can be.... Now the problem is I have too much ssd that doesn't work on this MacBook. Hope it works with the other^^
     

Share This Page