My mac won't launch, please help

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Jamie C, May 12, 2018.

  1. Jamie C macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    #1
    i was on my Mac when it just froze and stopped working. After research, I figured out that the problem was that I had to reinstall macOs. The only thing was, Macintosh HD wasn't an option, and it said that recovery HD was locked. Can anyone help me fix my Mac?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    If you open Disk Utility, do you see your Macintosh HD listed there?
    Choose that, and then click First Aid to do a quick test of the drive and directory.
    If you don't see Macintosh HD in Disk Utility, then it's likely that your drive has failed, or is close to failing.

    How old is your Mac? Can you tell us what model Mac you have?
     
  3. Jamie C, May 12, 2018
    Last edited: May 12, 2018

    Jamie C thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    #3
    To answer your first question, no, Macintosh HD is not there. I have a MacBook Pro. It used to be my older brothers. I don't know exactly how old it is, but I'm guessing 6 or 7 years old
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2018 ---
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/a4ak78o54hx1jx8/AAD95_FAmxcr5CxlkO8fT1eZa?dl=0
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I think you are about right with the age.
    The various Disk Utility screens show that there is almost nothing on the main partition, and that one has even lost its name - showing up underneath the "HDD HTS..." line as OS X Base System. That is the name of the boot system used by the recovery system. You have nothing else left on the drive.
    I suspect that when your Mac froze/locked up, that was the result of your hard drive failing.
    Everything else is gone, other than what you might have backed up on an external drive.

    Maybe you can post the serial number here for your MBPro, which will be on the bottom cover in pretty small characters. There will be about 12 or 13 characters in the serial number. (The serial number sometimes will be difficult to read because of wear on the bottom cover) I can use that to discover exactly the model and year that you have.
     
  5. Jamie C, May 12, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018

    Jamie C thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    #5
    Well this is awkward but I don't think I have any backups. Is there any way I can fix this? Do u need the serial number? It's C1MHH30FDV13. Thanks.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    OP:

    Is the MBP a retina or non-retina?
    Does it have a slot for a DVD/CD drive on the side, or not?
     
  7. MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #7
    You have a late 2011 13" MBP and should be able to install a new hard drive to make it useable again, but if your drive has failed, your data is gone. I would suggest an SSD, especially for HS. You will need either a bootable usb installer with the OS you want, or another Mac in order to format the new drive. Also suggest getting another drive to make a bootable clone of your system once you get back up and runing. You can use CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper for this. Good luck!
     
  8. Jamie C thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    #8
    I don't know what retina is, but yes, it does have a DVD slot on the side
    Thanks for the help! But how do I get the cloners, and then how do I clone it?
     
  9. MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #9
    If your brother still has another Mac, he can make a bootable usb installer (16gb thumb drive) by using the program Boot Buddy, then you can boot from it and install a new OS on the new hard drive. iFixit or Macsales will have instructions on how to install a new hard drive. Pretty simple to do.
     
  10. Jamie C thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    #10
    My brother now has a Microsoft surface, but my mom and my sister have macs. My sister has the new Mac, will that still work?
     
  11. MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #11
    Yes. the programs Boot Buddy and Install Disc Maker are both free, and with those and a 16gb (8gb might work) USB thumb drive, she can create a bootable USB installer so you can boot your machine and install an OS on the new drive.
     
  12. Jamie C thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    #12
    Okay, I'll try it tonight. Thanks so much
     
  13. crjackson2134, May 13, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    You must have at least 12GB of usable space on your media if using a USB stick with High Sierra. You can force the creation of a High Sierra Installer onto an 8GB drive but it won’t be functional. High Sierra has to have some files unpacked and it does it right on the installation media, so during the install it actually grows well beyond 8GB.
     
  14. MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #14
    Thanks. I know some people have recommended 8gb sticks for other OS, but I always use the 16gb sticks that I bought in bulk, and keep bootable installers for several OSs backwards ... just in case.
     

Share This Page