My Mac won't load certain pages

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AshtonDmau5, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. AshtonDmau5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    #1
    I've changed the DNS and done instructions from other forums,
    To no result.
    The sites that won't load are Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Apple site & eBay.
    I have installed flash & java correctly, and it won't work.
    I do not have peer guardian, and my proxies & firewalls are not the problem

    Please help?
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    If your proxies aren't the problem, then it has to be DNS.

    Try OpenDNS if you haven't already (i.e. set your default DNS server on your router and/or Mac to 208.67.222.222)
     
  3. AshtonDmau5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    #3
    Nope, already had that on,
    Still not working.
     
  4. Nabby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    Can you resolve their IP addresses in Terminal, using nslookup or something similar?

    Have you tried multiple browsers, like Firefox or Chrome in addition to Safari?

    Nabby
     
  5. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #5
    More details please. Which, Mac, what version OS, and what's the last change you made?

    Cheers,
     
  6. AshtonDmau5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    #6
    MacBook, 13", 10.5.8, I got iLife 09', but it has been a problem for a few weeks.
    I have tried them on the PC, works fine.
    On my MacBook, I have used Safari, Chrome & Firefox.
    I have 'iAntiVirus' installed, and have searched many times, but no virus' have been found.
     
  7. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #7
    That's because there are no Mac viruses in the wild. Try uninstalling iAntiVirus and rebooting. See if that fixes it.

    Otherwise, my suggestion is to make a new location profile in the Network control panel and add back your interface and, if applicable, your wifi network.

    It sounds like there's a problem with your hosts file on your Mac, though I don't know enough about it to give advice on how to fix it.
     

Share This Page