My MacBook Experience

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sparky8, Apr 9, 2007.

  1. Sparky8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #1
    I recieved my MacBook last Friday and haven't put it down since, i'm new to Macs and decided to turn after far too many XP problems. For instance i re formatted my comp a few weeks ago and yet its full of spyware. So what do i think of my Mac.

    Firstly the connection to my network was a pain in th arse, until i realised u just need to put a $ at the beginning, why i dont know but from then on its been great. We recently got a BT Home HUB 8MB. My comp (sits next to it) has an awesome connection. My mums comp in her room has 0-10% signal. So she wont use it now. My sisters laptop which she uses downstairs has an average connection, sometimes goes completely. My MacBook, no matter where i am in the house has 100% signal. Go Apple.

    Games: Im a huge gamer and going off to do a game production course at uni in sept, this was what pulled me back from a mac and what also made me wonder about the MBP. Yet i went ahead and installed Football Manager 2007 and it runs like a dream, i only have england loaded into the game im playing but it works hugely better than it ever did on my desktop. Barry is peased indeedy.

    Streaming vido-Ive thrown stuff about when using XP on sites like youtube because it its all stop start as it cant stream properly, I have only once had an issue with my BlacBookand that was when watching a HD traier of Spiderman 3. My screen will show HD right? but it wasnt a big problem and it worked pretty dam well, only stopped once.

    Blutooth-OMG its amazing, i had no way of putting stuff on my comp before as the software never worked on my desktop. But my BlackBok works like a dream with my samsung phone-with no software needed. I already have a vid and picture on Bebo. Buying my mac has now made me want to buy a quality camera.

    Dashboard-whats not to love i can now access my gmail account with ease as well as sky sports news, and that sms widget is dam cool.

    Front Row-love it, just love it. But sometime there are remote issues, is it broken or does it have to be pointed right at the screen? It does work just has a few niggles with starting

    The caps lock, sall thing but i didnt know where it was until i pressed it and a light popped up-genious. Probably does that on all laptop but i still like it

    Trackpad-two finger scolling-took me a while to work out how i was doing it but its great

    Some issues: The heat, its getting very hot after 2-3 hours of use. should i be worried?

    Installing software, this is a pain. In windows it all goes into the start menu ut of the way and you just have to the exe file. Macs are weird and its all rather messy, am i doing something wrong?

    Firefox-can i get it for mac, i need tabbed browsing

    Can i use isight with msn or not? if not how do i connect to other people? do they need to have a mac too?

    Speakers-i knew they werent great beforehand but they are ok, anyway of getting connecting to external ones? also what cables do i need to hook it up to our HD.

    Before buying my MacBook i thought to myself, ill have amacbook but get a high quality desktop for gaming. Now i have one i cant see myself using my current desktop again other than for Medieva total war/Rome. In future i might ust get an iMac/Pro with bootcamp. BTW im writing this on my Mac

    It's love
     
  2. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Welcome to the Apple side of things :)

    Glad to hear you like what you have seen and experienced so far!

    Have you tried using Exposé (F9)? Open a bunch of applications and various windows and try it ;)
    It really does make multitasking a lot more efficient once you get the hang of it.

    You shouldn't be too worried about the heat, it is quite normal that the heat builds up after extended use. Can you hear the fans start when the temperature gets high?

    Oh, and just a quick note. You should probably clean up your spelling a bit. It can at times be a bit hard to read but nothing major.
     
  3. Sparky8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #3
    No i havent tried F9, i'll press it now........Love it.

    The fans come on yeah, i guess playing FM07 isnt useful.

    How wel does Vista work on Bootcamp btw? is it worth it to play other games

    Its not the spelling its my lack of care with typing, sadly the mac hasnt changed that lol
     
  4. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #4
    Try CrossOver for Mac if you want gaming on MB. It lets you run Windows apps (including a fair few games) in OSX, ridding the need to have Windows on your shiny MB.
     
  5. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Open Safari and click on preferences, you can enable tabbed browsing from there.
     
  6. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #6
    To address some of your queries, yes you can get Firefox for you mac , just goto the firefox website and download it.

    In regard to your query about applications, the general method of installing is merely to drag the program into the Applications folder. To uninstall, just drag them from the Applications folder into the trash.

    That hardly seems messy to me. ;)
     
  7. JDN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Lund Sweden {London England}
    #7
    He might be a little confused about the .dmg file mounting a disk image and then running the app.

    Basically:
    ~ Double click .dmg file to mount disk image
    ~ drag and drop app icon from disk image to applications folder and let it do it's thing
    ~ Eject disk image and delete .dmg file
    ~ Done

    I prefer this method a lot more than the windows method.
     
  8. Sparky8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #8
    its just having no start menu whhc usually holds all the installation files etc. Ive taken the exe file of fm and put it in applications, and moved all the other stuff into documents. a bit better

    something else too note, im in the process of moving my music onto this iTunes, i just stabbedd at the backspace button like 5 times but hit the eject button by accident (while Splinter is importing) and it didnt eject, u have to hold it. very nice[/borat]
     
  9. Sparky8 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    #9
    that was it thanks, ill write it down
     
  10. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #10
    A handy way to keep your apps accessible is to open Finder, and drag/drop Applications to the RIGHT side of the Dock, next to the trash. There's a line dividing the Dock, and be sure to drop the applications directory to the right side.

    Click-hold will then list all your apps, right from the Dock.
     
  11. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #11
    Right click in the window you are typing in, go to spelling - and then turn it on while you type. :D HElps those of us whose fingers and brain aren't on the same speed.

    Someone told you about Tabbed browsing in Safari - why it doesn't ship turned on I have no clue. Must.Have.Tabs.

    Enjoy the computer - sounds like you already are.

    OHHH, the Hub thing. Is it Blue Tooth? you call it BT. OR, is it a regular e-net wireless (B/G/N)? We have issues with some brands of "cards" having better connections than others. Also, if there is a bathroom with a mirror between you and your mom's computer - that will impact (moving our router 2 feet to the edge of the counter increased my connection greatly - skips the bathroom now!). It's all hit and miss for placement.

    So, back to it - enjoy the computer!!
     
  12. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #12
    Hehe, you yanks. BT is British Telecom, think AT&T but British and much better. :D
     
  13. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #13
    :D I went and found it! Glad it wasn't BlueTooth!

    Wouldn't take much to be better than ATT - bigger - dunno, they are apparently buying themselves back and growing again. :rolleyes:

    I"d look for interference - my MBP isn't affected by the Microwave turning on, but the older eMac and iBook - lost total signal.
     
  14. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Congrats on the new Mac ..... enjoy :)

    Yes you can use Firefox. :)

    FJ
     

Share This Page