My Macbook is dead :(

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dilutett72, Oct 20, 2007.

  1. dilutett72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    #1
    Today is just not my day. My Macbook is dead!!! It was working fine this morning, then tonight when I tried to switch it on, there was just a flash on the screen, but no chime. There was a tiny "click-click-click" sound when I hold the power button but that's about it. I am using the power adapter and I don't have the battery with me. In fact, I seldom use the battery so it is not a battery problem. I was transporting the Macbook during the day in my bag but I'm pretty sure it didn't bang on anything.

    Has this happened to anyone before?
     
  2. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    Hmm, I've never had that happen to me. I'd be calling AppleCare right about now, but we'll see what other people have to say, though.
     
  3. thebassoonist macrumors 6502a

    thebassoonist

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #3
    You can always try my way of fixing things. Let it sit in the corner overnight thinking about what it's done to you.

    :D
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    sounds like a bad hard drive. you can replace it fairly cheap
     
  5. cogsinister macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #5
    I think i read somewhere that if you use your MB without the battery from the AC adaptor you machine runs a lot slower.........or did i dream it ?

    I would allways have the battery in the computer just in case....
     
  6. dilutett72 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    #6
    No, working with power adapter only without the battery doesn't make it slower.... I do that because that way my battery will be conserved much better.

    Just went to Apple store.... They couldn't figure it out immediately and I'll have to leave it there.....said might be the logic board. I hope my hard disk data are still retrievable......

    Now that I think of it, when I ran a disk check on my hard disk, it did have some problems (you can see my previous posts). It said "volume header needs repair". But the computer was working fine. Also I didn't know I shouldn't do this, but I had put fonts directly into the system library (instead of the user library) before.... I've heard that may crash your computer. Does anyone know these?
     
  7. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #7
    Sounds like you've got a broken hard disk it seems to me, though it should boot to the folder icon with a ? in it. I had that click not so long ago, but its not an expensive repair, but you've lost all your data... thank goodness you backed up eh?
     
  8. cogsinister macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #8
    I am pretty sure it does.....just cant find the web page that the guy who discovered it did the tests.....it halves your CPU speeds i think.....
     
  9. Hockeypuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #9
    Unfortunately, the click-click-click sound is the hard drive. Logic boards don't make that sound when they die, and the Genius bar folks should know that.

    You can set up your machine to go less for performance and more for battery savings, but that's in the system settings.
     
  10. peapody macrumors 68040

    peapody

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    baltimore, md
    #10
    while the clicking is probably a harddrive error...isn't the chime a signal for post? i'm a pc repair tech, so macs are a little lost on me
     
  11. killerwhack macrumors regular

    killerwhack

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #11
    What is in the AppleCare box?

    I just bought a new MBP and have decided to buy Applecare while I still can. My question is this: what is in the applecare box ? Why not provide the serial number of the machine at purchase, as we do for auto insurance?

    just curious.

    Personally, I believe Apple should include apple care in the cost of the machine. That apple does not shows their lack of confidence in their product.
     

Share This Page