my macbook pro battery is damage

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jlr, Feb 11, 2009.

1. jlr macrumors newbie

hi newbie here in your forum in need help because my macbook pro battery is damage, and when i power on my laptop it shows a black screen only..my question is can i use and reformat my macbook pro even with out a battery??pls help..

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

I'm confused; is your computer damaged or just the battery?

3. misterredman macrumors 6502a

misterredman

You can use the macbook also without a battery. I guess you can reformat and install without the battery too. Just be sure not to pull the AC cable during the install.

To be true it's seems like a strange behaviour, not sure the battery damage explains the black screen at startup...

4. jlr thread starter macrumors newbie

@alphaod - sir my battery is damage after my lil sister used it(grrrrr so kind of her), the right side of it melts due to overheat and the good part of this is she didn't accept her mistake!!weeh

@misterredman - okie so thats the technique of it..to be honest sir im not familliar with this type of notebook and os..im only just a user ^^.sir is this type of notebook has a recovery disk built on his drive also?? because when my father both it from his friend he didn't check if theres a cd's on it..

thank for the reply sir alphaod and misterredman

5. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

SFStateStudent

+1 ^^^ OP, I operated my MBP for three days without a battery, so as the other posters have mentioned it can be done...:)

6. jlr thread starter macrumors newbie

thank you sir for the reply..know i need to learn more about this gadget of mine ^^--another thing is there a thread here on how to format this notebook??..thank you in advance

7. Apple Corps macrumors 68020

Do you have OS X installation disks for your machine?

8. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

You can run your computer without a baterry, but it will run slower due to the design of the machine.