My MacBook Pro is not recognizing my microphone.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by huskermania, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. huskermania macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #1
    I plugged in my microphone into the mic port on the left side of the computer. Im trying to use it for my Ustream feed but it is not recognizing it. Does anyone know how to fix it? Thanks.
     
  2. diazj3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
  3. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #4
    Does the system see it? If you go into the System Prefs, Sound, Input tab, can you see the external mic listed there? You'll have to select it manually as the system I think defaults to the internal mic even when plugging in an external.

    If the system sees it, then whatever app you are using should see it as well, and might have its own input preference on which mic to use. If so, you would have to change that specifically. If it doesn't, then it should use the one selected in the Sys Prefs.
     
  4. huskermania thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #5
    Im trying to use it in Ustream. The only audio input it can find is the internal mic. I'll look in the system prefs though.
     
  5. VitoProduction macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #6
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    That's not true. The port IS a mic/audio in jack. The OP's headset should work fine, since it's also compatible with MP3 players. No extra power is needed.

    To the OP: This may sound ultra-basic, but make sure you're plugging into the mic/line in jack, not the headphone/line out jack. You'd be surprised how many get tripped up by that.
     
  7. windstarfy macrumors member

    windstarfy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #8
    The port is line in. You need to amp it in order to make it work. Normal microphones do not work.

    In the end, I got a USB mic.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Boom microphones like the OP described do not require amplification for use with personal computers or MP3 players. I use a similar headset/mic all the time with Skype on my MBP. The OP's mic does NOT require amplification.

    "WORKS WITH ALL BRANDS OF COMPUTER & AUDIO DEVICES WITH A 3.5MM JACK. COMPATIBLE WITH WINDOWS® MAC® & LINUX®"
     
  9. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #10
    The port is line-in. Not mic-in. I did extensive testing about this and ended up using a USB mic.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3628
     
  11. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #12
    I do believe Macs use a low power audio-in jack that can use line-level and not mic-level. If something were mic-level it would require something like the Griffin iMic (that's why it exists) for the extra power. Nothing about the OP's specifically, just saying. Also this thread is about a year old :p

    Though I might have confused myself in my own research.
     

Share This Page