My Macbook pro is slooooow

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by RebootApple, Feb 25, 2018.

  1. RebootApple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    #1
    Hi,
    New install of sierra high - all updated.
    Having just a few programs open seems to be too much workload for the cpu. Everything lacks and stutters.
    Maybe its just the cpu that can't handle it or if anyone have a solution/explanation would be much appreciated.

    Hardware Overview:
    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro12,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core i5
    Processor Speed: 2,7 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP121.0171.B00
    SMC Version (system): 2.28f7

    Kernal task is taking up all the cpu load:
    Real mem: 1,17
    Vitual mem: 71,15
     
  2. mathisonrichard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    #2
    --- Post Merged, Feb 25, 2018 ---
    How does MBP perform while in Safe Boot with new user account ??
     
  3. RebootApple thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    #3
    New User + Safe mode. Seems everything is running smoothly. CPU is running normal in processes it seems...
     
  4. mathisonrichard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    #4
    Next, if it was me, I will boot into Normal Mode and troubleshoot in New User Account to check out performance.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    If it runs well in safe mode, but NOT with your regular account, the next step to try is this:

    Boot into safe mode again.
    Now, go to "users and groups"
    Choose to create a NEW account for test purposes.
    BE SURE to give it administrative privileges and a simple name and password.

    Now, log out of your regular account and INTO the "test account".
    Shut down.
    Reboot and log into the test account.
    How does it run NOW?

    IF it runs much better in your test account than it does in your "regular" account, you've got something in your regular account (or perhaps more than one thing) that is "mucking things up".
    You need to track down the offending software, and then -- GET RID OF IT.

    Yes, this is going to involve some work -- removing stuff, rebooting, trying it out again, etc.
    But that's what you have to do.
     

Share This Page

5 February 25, 2018