My MacBook won't connect automatically to my Wifi network now that it has Lion

Alvi

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 31, 2008
1,203
307
Mars
I pretty much love Lion but a major flaw I'm experiencing is that every time I close the Lid or Turn it back on it asks me to select a Wifi network although it already knows the password.

Is this a security feature? how can I fix this?
 

waterstm

macrumors newbie
Aug 11, 2011
8
0
I had the same problem up until yesterday on a new MacBook Pro running Lion. I tried the many possible solutions (removing keychain entries, moving the wireless network to the top of the preferred network list, etc...) that have been suggested on the web, but none of them seemed to work.

For whatever reason, the remedy for mine, was to remove the CD from the MacBook drive. After testing and retesting, I have had zero problems with losing my internet connection when manually putting the MacBook to sleep (closing the lid). Others reported similar problems/remedies with external HDDs.

Hope this helps...
 

lmw.other

macrumors newbie
Aug 20, 2011
1
0
l

I have that update and mine still won't auto connect... very annoying... please let us know if anyone has any more details
Thanks :)
 

kappaknight

macrumors 68000
Mar 5, 2009
1,577
79
Atlanta, GA
Ugh... just noticed the wife's new MacbookAir has wifi issues as well even without Time Machine backing up. Why did Lion take such a huge leap backwards with this?
 

mobius1ski

macrumors newbie
Sep 2, 2011
2
0
Brooklyn
Possible fix

It may be a problem with the connection information stored in your network profile.

  1. Go to System Preferences > Network.
  2. Click the Wi-Fi connection.
  3. Click the Advanced... button on the bottom right.
  4. Click the Wi-Fi tab.
  5. Under Preferred Networks, select your wireless network.
  6. Click the - (delete) button.
  7. Turn off your Wi-Fi connection.
  8. Turn it back on.
  9. Select and login to your wireless network. This will re-save your connection under Preferred Networks.
  10. Close your laptop and reopen it to test whether it worked.
 

drking

macrumors newbie
Sep 9, 2009
21
0
USA
Mobius1ski's suggestion worked for me 2!

Thanks! I've been looking for this answer for awhile and your suggestion worked great.
 

wifeofpierre

macrumors newbie
Dec 30, 2011
1
0
Eureka!! problem fixed

Followed Mobius1ski's suggestion and had SUCCESS!!

Mobius1ski may the road rise up to greet you, and the wind always be at your back! You have made my day..you are a MACMASTER. Thanks.:
 

jamin00

macrumors 6502a
Apr 14, 2012
612
168
Essex, UK.
Oddly I have had this problem too but it did not happen when I came home after I done the update at work. Will put it to sleep now and wake it to see if its sorted.

edit, seems to be fixed
 

Saskskyboy

macrumors newbie
May 22, 2012
1
0
Mobius's suggestion nearly worked for me, but I had to do one more step..I had to power down my laptop...but now it works. Thanks for the help.
 

kaibex

macrumors 6502
Jul 4, 2010
343
0
East Sussex, UK
I was just going to start a thread and saw this one. I have has this issue for months and after numbers phone calls to Apple Care and 5 Genius appointments they still can't get it working.

After 4 erase installs of Lion and 2 comprehensive tests on my Macbook by Apple 'Genius' it still does not work. They even replaced the Airport card (I feel in a bid to get rid of me) but problem is still there. They advised me today that the next and only thing they can do is replace my display at a cost of £300, which I would NOT get refunded if it doesn't fix the issue, they are adamant Lion is not at fault. Very poor service on their part and I am now going to take it further.

I would have been happy (well almost) if they have had refunded my £24.99 and put me back on Snow Leopard but refund is not an option either apparently.
 

km2830

macrumors newbie
Feb 20, 2013
1
0
Mobius1ski solution WORKED for me!!! YAY!!

SUCCESS.....IT WORKED!!

Mobius1ski, Thank you for helping me with this difficult TO ME problem but EASY FOR U solution!! Thanks again Mobius1ski! :D

----------

For a Solution that REALLY Works....

Check out Mobius1ski's solution!!
 

macgabe

macrumors 6502
Dec 29, 2012
270
208
Mobius' solution worked for me too! Now on Mavericks. (Though my network name has not yet reappeared under preferred networks in network settings - it doesn't seem to make any difference). Thanks Mobius!
 

ponni

macrumors newbie
May 24, 2015
1
0
mobius1ski,s solution worked for me too but i had to shut down my mac book as an xtra step.
anyways thank u
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.