My MacBook won't connect automatically to my Wifi network now that it has Lion

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Alvi, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. Alvi macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #1
    I pretty much love Lion but a major flaw I'm experiencing is that every time I close the Lid or Turn it back on it asks me to select a Wifi network although it already knows the password.

    Is this a security feature? how can I fix this?
     
  2. Tiki35 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
    #2
    It's an issue with Lion that many are experiencing. Hopefully, Apple will fix this with their next update.
     
  3. waterstm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #3
    I had the same problem up until yesterday on a new MacBook Pro running Lion. I tried the many possible solutions (removing keychain entries, moving the wireless network to the top of the preferred network list, etc...) that have been suggested on the web, but none of them seemed to work.

    For whatever reason, the remedy for mine, was to remove the CD from the MacBook drive. After testing and retesting, I have had zero problems with losing my internet connection when manually putting the MacBook to sleep (closing the lid). Others reported similar problems/remedies with external HDDs.

    Hope this helps...
     
  4. Alvi thread starter macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
  5. lmw.other macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    #5
    l

    I have that update and mine still won't auto connect... very annoying... please let us know if anyone has any more details
    Thanks :)
     
  6. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #6
    For me it caused it. Prior to 7.1 it was working fine.
     
  7. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #7
    I still have wifi issues with mine. Most noticeable when Time Machine is in the middle of a wifi backup.
     
  8. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #8
    Ugh... just noticed the wife's new MacbookAir has wifi issues as well even without Time Machine backing up. Why did Lion take such a huge leap backwards with this?
     
  9. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #9
    10.7.1, and randomly have this issue. annoying (but not life-threatening)..
    hoping a fix in .2...
     
  10. mobius1ski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #10
    Possible fix

    It may be a problem with the connection information stored in your network profile.

    1. Go to System Preferences > Network.
    2. Click the Wi-Fi connection.
    3. Click the Advanced... button on the bottom right.
    4. Click the Wi-Fi tab.
    5. Under Preferred Networks, select your wireless network.
    6. Click the - (delete) button.
    7. Turn off your Wi-Fi connection.
    8. Turn it back on.
    9. Select and login to your wireless network. This will re-save your connection under Preferred Networks.
    10. Close your laptop and reopen it to test whether it worked.
     
  11. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #11
    Weird, I never had this problem. Not under 10.7.0, nor under 10.7.1. Try reconfiguring your network settings as mobius1ski suggested.
     
  12. zukemtb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    #12
    Mobius1ski's suggestion worked for me!

    Thanks!!!
     
  13. drking macrumors newbie

    drking

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    Mobius1ski's suggestion worked for me 2!

    Thanks! I've been looking for this answer for awhile and your suggestion worked great.
     
  14. wifeofpierre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #14
    Eureka!! problem fixed

    Followed Mobius1ski's suggestion and had SUCCESS!!

    Mobius1ski may the road rise up to greet you, and the wind always be at your back! You have made my day..you are a MACMASTER. Thanks.:
     
  15. paul.coman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
  16. revgoose macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    #16
    Thank you!

    This actually worked! Great fix for a bad headache~:)
     
  17. Jake69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #17
    It Works Now

    Mobius1ski--you rock!!! Worked for me
     
  18. Tritons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
  19. jamin00 macrumors 6502

    jamin00

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Essex, UK.
    #19
    Oddly I have had this problem too but it did not happen when I came home after I done the update at work. Will put it to sleep now and wake it to see if its sorted.

    edit, seems to be fixed
     
  20. bitstomper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #20
  21. Saskskyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #21
    Mobius's suggestion nearly worked for me, but I had to do one more step..I had to power down my laptop...but now it works. Thanks for the help.
     
  22. kaibex macrumors 6502

    kaibex

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    #22
    I was just going to start a thread and saw this one. I have has this issue for months and after numbers phone calls to Apple Care and 5 Genius appointments they still can't get it working.

    After 4 erase installs of Lion and 2 comprehensive tests on my Macbook by Apple 'Genius' it still does not work. They even replaced the Airport card (I feel in a bid to get rid of me) but problem is still there. They advised me today that the next and only thing they can do is replace my display at a cost of £300, which I would NOT get refunded if it doesn't fix the issue, they are adamant Lion is not at fault. Very poor service on their part and I am now going to take it further.

    I would have been happy (well almost) if they have had refunded my £24.99 and put me back on Snow Leopard but refund is not an option either apparently.
     
  23. km2830 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    #23
    Mobius1ski solution WORKED for me!!! YAY!!

    SUCCESS.....IT WORKED!!

    Mobius1ski, Thank you for helping me with this difficult TO ME problem but EASY FOR U solution!! Thanks again Mobius1ski! :D

    ----------

    For a Solution that REALLY Works....

    Check out Mobius1ski's solution!!
     
  24. macgabe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #24
    Mobius' solution worked for me too! Now on Mavericks. (Though my network name has not yet reappeared under preferred networks in network settings - it doesn't seem to make any difference). Thanks Mobius!
     
  25. ponni macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    #25
    mobius1ski,s solution worked for me too but i had to shut down my mac book as an xtra step.
    anyways thank u
     

Share This Page