My MBA gets really hot! (around 90 celcius)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by choiik, Aug 12, 2011.

1. choiik macrumors newbie

Hi,
    While I was watching guitar lesson using Garageband app, I heard my MBA's fan spinning noisy. I check the temp using istat and found out that it went up to over 90 degree Celsius. So I restarted it and it came back to normal temp around 50 degree. Is there anything wrong with my computer?
    Also, I have clear seethru plastic case and keyboard cover on the MBA, do they obstructs MBA's heat dissipate?

i am using 2011 macbook air 13 inch i5.
    thank you for reading!:)

2. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

Lord Appleseed

Whats the Activity Monitor saying? Any CPU intensive tasks running that you might not be aware of?

3. choiik thread starter macrumors newbie

How do I check the Activity Monitor? I am very new to Mac.

4. Lord Appleseed, Aug 12, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011

Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

Lord Appleseed

Applications or Launchpad -> Utilities -> Activity Monitor

On top of the window select "All Tasks" and then sort the list for the highest CPU tasks.

If you are unsure about what you are seeing there, then just make a screenshot with Cmd + Shift + 3

5. lukekarts macrumors regular

To save yourself the trouble of checking, 90 degrees C is fairly normal for i5' / i7's, so it seems. It won't do any damage until 105 degrees C; at which point it will shut itself down anyway.

They are quite good at temperature management, so turn off Turbo Boost and shut down cores if running too hot.

6. choiik thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you for the reply guys.
    I am really appreciated with your replies!

7. cluthz macrumors 68040

cluthz

Case and keyboard protector will make your machine heat up more.
    When doing heavy work, remove it, and keep it on for when you have it with you around for surfing and word processing.