my MBA lags playing Warcraft 3?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by baboo2, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. baboo2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    As a previous MBP owner and a PC owner I am confused.

    The x3100 videocard should handle Warcraft 3 fine correct?
    However, when playing DOTA ( map settings) it lags- 2-10 FPS after 10minute into game play.
    I set my fan at 6200rpm , temp hovers between 70-90

    My setting in game:
    LOW settings on all options
    640 by 480 resolution ( the lowest!)

    I like my MBA a lot but should playing a 5 year old really "suck" this bad?
     
  2. dinaluvsApple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    definetly weird because i play dota, and i get 47fps.
    try reinstalling it, and change ur video card settings, even though its onboard its still tweakable.
     
  3. baboo2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    what are your settings?
    and where can i change my video card setting outside of the game?
     
  4. dinaluvsApple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4
    i play full on detail

    to adjust ur video card, u need to go to properties of the card i think, my friend did it for me.
     
  5. baboo2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
  6. nawoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #6
    How did you manage to play dota on OSX?

    I installed everything up fine, installed the frozen throne updates, but once i get into battlenet, i don't see any dota maps at all. I've already put the latest dota map in the frozen throne map folder.
     
  7. dinaluvsApple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    i play it on win xp using boot camp.
     
  8. baboo2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    so I actually reinstalled war3 on mac
    NO GOOD..
    it seems to be running at 30fps on any setting UNTIL the game starts...

    : as CPU and video card temp INCREASE exponentially , the FPS drops exponentially - a direct correlation

    Any fix? or any way to FORCE CPU and allow heat...I have the Coolbook application but is currently disabled



    As for the dota maps...dl any random map first in the custom games THEN place your dota map into that folder root ( you can't just place it under maps)
     
  9. nawoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #9
    The problem was a simple one, i just joined the wrong server. Went to join the Asia server when i really should have been on US West. Hahaha. Played Dota fine after that
     
  10. chill. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #10
    if you're running the OSX version of warcraft 3 then i'd suggest try using boot camp with windows xp and war3. war3 on windows is less buggy/better optimized and xp might take less resources

    also an external usb fan board does wonders in reducing heat, usually like 5-15 degrees celsius from my experience
     
  11. baboo2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    defeats the point of a MBA but i'll look into it



     
  12. CaptainCannabis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #12
    Install Windows XP via bootcamp and then install the game there.
    It runs smooth all the time at like 60fps. But the MBA will get very hot, so play it in a cool place. (Its just stupid Mac OS X that sucks at games).
     

Share This Page