My mbp wont bootup :-(

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by m3kal, May 7, 2012.

1. m3kal, May 7, 2012
    Last edited: May 7, 2012

m3kal macrumors newbie

hi im new to the mac world and ive just got my first mbp, i got a crucial m4 ssd and thought id give it an upgrade so i used carbon copy to clone but now all i get is the question mark flashing even when i put the original hdd back in. i did notice which i cant understand why is that if i plug the ssd or the original hdd in via usb it boots up but if i connect them inside the mac it gives question mark. ive tried to install new system but fails to see any device to install on, but as ive said if i connect using usb it see it????? Totally lost here guys. just hope this can be fixed some how. any ideas. Thanks

----------

oh and when i try to erase the drive via usb it fails on last block ??

2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

bozz2006

My guess is that the ribbon connector to the logic board is disconnected. Open up your computer and make sure all the connections are snug.

3. m3kal thread starter macrumors newbie

yeah just chkd that taken off and put back on again, still nothing. dam question mark.

4. Ccrew macrumors 68020

5. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

bozz2006

I dont mean to sound condescending, but rather thorough: did you check the connection to the SSD AND to the logicboard? It sure sounds like a connection issue between the SSD and the logicboard.

6. m3kal thread starter macrumors newbie

well ive chkd for any damage on the ribbon and see non looks good. its strange cuz if i boot up via usb with ssd and keep the original hdd inside it does see it when booted up but says drive inside couldnt be read, i then try to erase it but says cant on last block.

is there any other software i can try to sort this ? even on a windows machine if i have to.

7. m3kal thread starter macrumors newbie