My MBP wont read my SD card.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by buggsy13, Jun 20, 2012.

1. buggsy13 macrumors newbie

OK, so I did a lot of searching before I made this thread, and none of the tips that I found worked for me, so this is sort of last resort. Anyway, the title says it all, my Mac wont read my SD card. I've been using the card for well over six months with no problems, and then all of the sudden it just stopped showing up. I've tried reformatting the card in my camera, cleaning the SD card slot in my computer, and only putting the card in 3/4 of the way, all to no avail. :( Now I know the card is good, because my camera reads it with no issues. However, I tried using a different card and my Mac did in fact read it, so it seems to be an issue with just this one card. :confused: Any ideas? Thanks.

2. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

3. buggsy13, Jun 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012

buggsy13 thread starter macrumors newbie

My 4GB PNY does not work, and my 2GB Vivitar does work. As I said, the 4GB used to work fine until now.

4. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

nuckinfutz

Interesting I just read the new review on the Retina MBP on anandtech.com and he specifically mentioned how flakey the SD card reader was on former MBP. Said he had to wiggle it a bit to get some to connect.

5. Edie Brickell macrumors member

Try your card with different Mac machine may be it will be read by another Mac.

6. LizKat macrumors 68040

LizKat

My mid-2010 Mac Book Pro is about to get sent back to Apple for having a dead SD card reader. Both of the new 32GB cards I tried in it do not register. They both register just fine in my MacBook Air (late 2011).