My mini locked up with this screen.

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by steve knight, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. steve knight macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2011 mini with 8 gigs of memory and i had a few lockups that needed a power button fix. I also had itg slowing way down and everyone said sounds like a bad drive.
    put a ssd in and it has been great till I came home to a min that should have been sleeping to this screen that needed turned off.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. mad3inch1na macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #2
    It looks like your graphics card is failing. Do you have AppleCare?
     
  3. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #3
    no apple care and most likely it would have run out by now. would hate to do an update now as i would not be getting a much never computer. plus I hate updating computers always seems a letdown. the ssd made a huge difference to me.
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    Which 2011 mini? Base or mid? The base had only the iGPU so it uses system RAM so if you had bad system RAM I could see this happening.
     
  5. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #5
    base. it would be good if it is memory I would hate to replace 3 year old computer with a 2 year old one. use the apple hardware test to find out if the memory is bad?
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1509
     
  6. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #6
    http://www.memtest86.com/technical.htm#linux
     
  7. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #7
    I did the apple one as I was too lazy tonight and did the long version and it said no problems.
     
  8. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #8
    Memtest OS X
     
  9. OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
  10. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #10
    Seems to be it is only a few months old. But the mini was fully locked up. Ordered the new test.
     
  11. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #11
    If you model is the one with Intel HD 3000, it shouldn't be a gpu issue. Looks like a defective RAM module. Try removing one of the modules or even reinstall the original ones. If the problem disappears, just buy new RAM... maybe an opportunity to upgrade to 16GB...
     
  12. janitor3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #12
    I had something like that happen about a year ago, 2 days after upgrading the Ram. Put the original modules back in, problem solved. Turned out one of the new modules was defective, had it replaced, no more problems.
    Hope this helps.
     
  13. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #13
    Doubt i could find the original memory so I was thinking of buying more. what to get in 8 or 16 gigs?
     
  14. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #14
    I think you should try removing the defective module before upgrading. There's a remote chance that you have a problem in another component. Assuring that the problem is RAM is the first thing to do.

    You should buy RAM that is recommended in the forum for your module. Just create a topic like "Right RAM for a 2011 Mac Mini (base model)". There will be a lot of people commenting based on suppositions, but try to filter the answers by users who actually have or had the same Mac Mini.

    Usually commenters suggest the obvious and more expensive way, that is, buying from OWC, iFixit or "made for Mac" RAM from Crucial or Corsair. Eventually you can find users who have inexpensive modules installed for a long time.

    Maybe your RAM isn't defective at all, but some of its properties makes it incompatible (e.g. high CAS latency not supported by the HD 3000). I could report my experience, but since my Mac Mini is a 2010 model, it couldn't work for you as well.
     
  15. jg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    If it's worked OK with the memory it has in it for a number of years, I'd be hugely surprised if it's just "gone bad". Try each stick individually.
     
  16. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #16
    I can't remember what memory it was one of the ones recommended at the time Crucial I think. it has been working for 3 years almost. but the lockup happens so seldom it would be hard to test it by taking one ram out. the last time it locked up was at least a month if not more.
     
  17. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #17
    Try filling up the entire RAM space, then check what happens. Open a very big text/image file (a 2GB-sized one seems to be ok).
     
  18. dvdchance macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #18
    Having the same issue with my base 2011.

    Started a similar thread here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1684839

    Basically I've learned to live with it until it gets so frequent that I have to either fix it or get a new machine.

    A few things I've noticed dealing with this is

    1) It has only happened when I've been watching HD content on my display. Either 720p or 1080p video.

    2) It would happen mostly when Time Machine was doing a backup. I have a scheduler that backups up every 4 hours, and I noticed when I would restart more often then not Time Machine would resume backups.
     
  19. Thermonuclear macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #19
    Consider the possibility that this is a heat related problem. Before installing replacement memory, you might consider trying some fan control software using settings which encourage more airflow.

    Also, vacuum any dust from the heat exhaust port.
     
  20. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #20
    Mine I would just find it locked up. no clue what it was doing at the time. plus it is so seldom it would be hard to know what causes it.
    I thought of heat but with the SSD drive my mini hardly gets warm anymore. I don't think the fan has gotten about 1700 rpms. I cleaned the dust otu when I put the ssd in.
     
  21. dvdchance macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #21
    I'm using the iStats app and it can be set to control fan speed and shows temp. I never noticed a relationship between temp and when it would freeze up. I have my Mini setup as the Plex server for a few Rokus around my house. When they start transcoding content the CPU and temp really get way up, and it never caused it to freeze not once.

    What can almost on cue cause a freeze is if I play a 720p file formatted using the PAL frame rate of 25fps (50Mz) Not sure why but it does. Probably because it needs to do more video processing is my guess, since my display is either 24fps(film mode) or 29.97 fps(NTSC).
     
  22. steve knight thread starter macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #22

    Ran it says all is ok.
     

Share This Page