My NEW/2YEARS old Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hms84, Jun 14, 2008.

1. hms84 macrumors regular

Hello Mac Rumors...
    Probably allot of people did this. I just want to share my experience with the Mac Pro (1st Gen.).
    I was a student when I bought my Mac Pro four months after the release. I was collecting its money for almost three years (^_^), I bought mine for 12000SR (3200$) with a standard Specs. . It was expensive but this was the BEST and CHEAPEST Mac Pro you'll ever get in this country (Saudi Arabia) at that time. (2.66 Quad Core & 1GB RAM). It was my final course in the university and I had to do a BIG project, I had to use two different software for that (All under WINXP ) one called Mimics, which will make 3D objects out of plain CT scan and I used SolidWorks for combining my result from Mimics and another implant I made in SolidWorks. THE RESULTS WERE A FAILURE (For the Mac Pro side at least), I was so disappointed with the results, IT LAGS so much that I couldn't even work on my NEW Mac Pro. We used my friend's laptop because it lags less. Then I tried to look for RAM (1 GB used to cost around 2000SR about 530$). I was so broke those days I couldn't even pay for a meal in McDonald's. Later I decided to make my presentation on Keynote. I had allot of videos in there (since switching between Mac and Win is very difficult), again making them was a headache. I tried to look for RAMs online it was expensive too (at least to me) and it didn’t accept my credit card because it’s non-American one. I was so disappointed with my new Pro. With the release of the new 24-inch iMac, I hated my Mac Pro. I was seriously thinking of selling it and buy one of these 24-inch iMacs. (NO REMOTE, NO WiFi nor BT) with a lack of new Graphics Cards (that time)...........................
    What do I do....?? :confused::confused:
    What did I did, Is it sold or I'm typing with NOW?? :p

TO BE CONTINUE