My new Hac Pro

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by taylorwilsdon, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    Wasn't getting all the delicious speed I needed with my Macbook Pro and I wanted a lighter laptop anyways, so I ditched the MBP and moved to a whole new one-two punch. Thinkpad X61 tablet for business, and the Hac Pro for pleasure.

    Stats:
    23" Apple Cinema HD Display
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3L (perfect osx86 board, everything but sound works out of the box)
    Intel E8500 3.16ghz 45nm CPU - Overclocked to 4.25ghz with Noctua NH-U12P (yes, that's a nice cooler :cool:)
    8GB DDR2-800 OCZ SLI Edition RAM
    XFX 8800GT Alpha Dog Edition
    Seagate SATA / Maxtor IDE / Western Digital IDE hard drives.
    Linksys Wireless-G USB Adapter

    This monster will be pulling duty in Aperture, Bridge, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Photomatix, and the biggest and baddest of them all, iTunes.

    This is, of course, the Picture Gallery, not the brag barn, so here's some pictures. These are all old (from my first attempt, using an ECS motherboard and an intel 7200 with IDE drives) but I'll add new ones in a little bit.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Here's what it looks like now:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    All I have to say is that if you're thinking about building a hackintosh, go for it. I spent a few very painful days working with some not so compatible hardware and it was unbelievably stressful, but once I got the right stuff, it was smooth sailing and the whole thing took like 20 minutes from disk in to running OSX.
     
  2. UMHurricanes34 macrumors 65816

    UMHurricanes34

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  3. cleanup macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    I love your case. I have the same one. Sonata FTW.

    Haven't pitched for installing OS X on it just yet, though. Do you dual boot or no? I'm thinking of getting another hard drive and giving it a go. The worst thing that happens is I ruin a harddrive that has nothing on it. :)
     
  4. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #5
    It'd look better with the case on :p


    Thanks for posting the components. I'm tempted to have a go, and if you've got a good setup, I might spend all my money :)


    *slaps forehead*
     
  5. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #6
    Might want to consider dropping your IDE drives. You might be lucky but many people have tons of kernel panics with the JMicron extension.

    Other than that it sounds like a freaking awesome rig.
     
  6. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    You know your stuff :) I used Chameleons patch for Jmicron IDE devices onto the Kalyway DVD but if I start to get KP's, I've got IDE to USB converters so that I can keep using the drives.

    Yes, its a really nice case... I love the rubber vibration dampeners on the hard drive sleds. Just a nice little touch.

    I'm going single boot - just OSX. I have a hard drive with a vanilla (no drivers installed) copy of XP that I used for BIOS updates, but I don't see myself using Windows ever, especially with the Thinkpad.

    Yes, its all put together now and hidden away behind the desk. Its super cheap - I bought everything new and spent about $700 after rebates (maybe less, I haven't balanced my bank statement for this month and I have a pending RMA on a dead board at Newegg).
     
  7. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #8
    This is getting so tempting. The iMac is so wrong for me, the Mac Pro is too expensive marked up with components I do not need, and my Mini can do everything I want it to do except power two 23" ACDs plus a couple 17"s...

    Sounds like a nice build at a great price!
     
  8. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #9
    I would also consider using EFI strings for your graphics card if you have't done so yet. It has solved all my video problems I was having with NVInject and NVKush.
     
  9. reberto macrumors 65816

    reberto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #10
    Nice choice on the HSF ;) I have one myself with two high speed Yate-Loons (88CFM). Now all you need to do is install it :p
     
  10. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    I used NVinstaller and NVinject which worked great. Only had to edit one kext (nvinject) and nvinstaller took care of the rest. Very fast, but there really isn't that much in OSX that can take advantage of such a fast video card (I overclocked the already overclocked video card).

    I'm using it with Noctua fans. Its installed right now and works beautifully. I'm writing a review about it that will be up soonish.

    This thing really is great - the audio is still fubar but everything else is wonderfully fast. Now all I need to do is buy a couple 1TB hard drives and I'm set.
     
  11. dchen720 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
  12. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #13
    Got some white Apple stickers with your MBP, yeah?
    Stick some on the side, man!!!

    Might as well go the whole hog!! :D

    Pity it ain't dual QuadCore Xeon's
     
  13. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #14
    hey op, pm me for how to get your audio working if you havent figured out already. its really easy to do


    i have the same mb for my hackintosh

    my specs are

    gigibyte ds3l board
    q6600 oc'd to 2.91ghz
    msi 8800gt 512
    4 gig ram
    500 sata hd
     
  14. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #15
    In the neighborhood of $650. I was going for $500 but I decided to splurge a little.

    I'm PM'ing you duke.
     
  15. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #16
    With your video card drivers can you do the following things?

    Resize your desktop resolution
    Is Quartz Extreme and GL working
    Can you let your display turn off and wake it back up (not the computer sleep, just the display sleep)

    Also, does your motherboard have optical out and if so have you tried it?

    Just curious cause those are the video problems I had with NVInject and Kush.
     
  16. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #17
    i had all those working (didnt try optical out i dont think i can, will see) with nviinject on the same board
     
  17. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #18
    Yes (running at 1920x1200 of course, but you can choose any)
    Yes (yes, confirmed in System Profiler:
    Yes, sleep works great (both display and system).

    Haven't tried optical out, I'll see if I can find a cable and try it.

    Dukebound fixed my sound issue, by the way :) Its perfect now!
     
  18. Whorehay macrumors 6502a

    Whorehay

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #19
    How's the Thinkpad treating you? Looking at getting an X-series to replace my iBook :)
     
  19. tonie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #21
    nice, i want to hack my dell but don't know how :(
     
  20. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #22
    http://google.com
     
  21. tonie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #23
    Thanks, I have looked it up but couldn't find a guide for my Dell Vostro 400. If you happen to stumble on it, please let me know. Thanks
     
  22. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #24
    There's no "guide" - its very straightforward, a package like Kalyway supports 99% of PC hardware.

    If your Vostro has a core 2 duo processor, then you're good to go.
     
  23. tonie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #25
    Can you provide me (PM or post) with a link to download it because I have attempted several times but to no avail.
     

Share This Page