My new iMac i7 came yesterday....

Discussion in 'iMac' started by GordysGadgets, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. GordysGadgets macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #1
    After many weeks of reading the boards I finally decided to get the best Apple had to offer and upgrade.
    2.93GHZ 8GB RAM 265GB SSD etc.
    The monitor is every bit as beautiful a display as I've read, the machine so quiet you could hear a pin drop. As perfect as it could be until I do a Migration.
    Hangs at 11 min for a couple hours so I call Apple. Tech has me try some stuff and try it again. Hang up and had him send me some links to hints if it failed.
    It Failed again so move on to time machine restore. This works. Now on reboot I'm getting the screen that there was a problem and to use the Power Switch to turn off the computer. After I get running the boot time was very long, much longer than my old iMac (3.06GHZ Duo).
    Shot an email to Apple support to have them call me this AM

    The tech could not determine if it was hardware or not. I'm willing to try and solve the problem as I had the day off. Figure it's software. The machine would not boot to the disc but rather just had a blank white screen.
    If I used the option on reboot (I would finally see the hard drive and the dvd drive icons. Highlight the dvd and click the arrow to boot from DVD and that is for the mouse. Tried the trackpad, same thing, one click and no more pointing tool.

    I was asked if I had a usb mouse in the house so I stole my wifes and it failed the exact same as the other mice.
    At this point I said this thing cost me over $3000 and it should not have these issues.
    OK he says no problem puts me to a supervisor that has me repeat the steps with the same outcome.
    I am not near an Apple Store so, I am allowing them to replace the machine and hope it doesn't have the same issues.

    Mac stuff always just "works" and to have the flagship iMac foul out like this makes me wonder, and I know this is not a perfect world and accept it.

    I am not burned at Apple but at having to repeat all the same trouble shooting things over and over.

    All the above being said, watch for ANY problems on a new machine and report them immediate.
    If you wait too long you will be offered a refurb for replacement at best.

    I have faith all will work out and if I forget to pack all the accessories up for the return, well too bad. This did cost me a day and I believe my time is worth something.

    Anyone else not return everything (ie:keyboard or a mouse) with a DOA product and get nailed with a bill or does Apple accept this as the cost of doing business?

    Gordy
     
  2. osprey76 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    #2
    Sorry for your bad luck. What MacOS version are you running on the Mac you are migrating from? I have seen problems migrating from older versions of the OS. (10.4 to 10.6, in my dad's case.) I created a new account first on the new machine and then used the migration assistant to grab just the things I needed/knew would not create problems on the new computer.

    Is the Time Machine backup you are using to restore from the new iMac or the old one? There has not been any point updates since the new iMacs came out, I think. If this is correct, a fully updated, existing MacOS installation may be lacking drivers for the new iMac. Just some thoughts from issues I've seen.
     
  3. mlblacy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    the REAL Jersey Shore
    #3
    Don't think it is hardware...

    Likely something got glitched during the migration, and the system is confused on start up. Is the other computer still connected? it is possible that it is hardware, but not likely as it worked OK until the migration. Also, did you do anything else.... Like install add'l ram? It is possible it is not seated correctly, or the ram is defective.

    Apple is very good at setting things right, no matter what you read here in the forums. If you have a local store take it in. if you have not purchased AppleCare, it is well worth it for the 3 years of piece of mind. You can get it cheaper on Amazon.

    Lastly, while I LOVE the wireless mice, sometimes they do get "lost"' hence the occasional need for an old USB mouse.

    If you get a clueless tech on the phone, call again. MOST of the techs are very good, but the getting the "restart" and call me back is the oldest tech support dodge in the book, lol.
    Michael
     
  4. GordysGadgets thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #4
    No ram upgrades. Machine fresh out of the box did this. I just am out a days time and hours on the phone.
    Thanks for the replies.
    Yes tech support did exactly as you state. Has me do the pram or whatever reset and said, "that should solve the issue and if not call back". While he was telling me this I rebooted and it popped back up, so I said "I'm calling back".
    Tech thought he was going to be off the hook for the call but no such luck.
    I have the highest regard for Apple and their products, so I'm not complaining here just passing along what happened. All will be well. :)
    No matter Apple is replacing. The next one I will do the hard way and just reinstall every app and move my files across from the old iMac.
    Not taking chances with Migration asst or TM again.

    I did PC for so many years doing a reformat 3 times a year just to clean it up I think this migration is just too easy. I've had it work, but hey, new machine, needs to start fresh in my eyes. I know many disagree but to each is own. ;)
     
  5. Btom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #5
    Don't worry. It is Apple. It just works....
    Sorry, couldn't resist.

    Tom B.
     
  6. GordysGadgets thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #6
    LOL ...Coming from 12 years of PC first time a problem. Machine still runs, just don't trust for all the money I paid. Let Apple eat it and replace. Still have my old iMac to lean on :)

    While on the subject, would anyone kindly extend a help link on manually moving over programs or the settings preferences for Mail and network? While I can handle reinstalling apps the prefs and settings are a pain if I can move them over from the other machine.
    Thanks!
     
  7. Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #7
    Like some, I came from Windows world as well. I could have "connected and moved" my data and possibly mail files items over via migration (or hybrid migration) method. Instead, I use a USB stick instead, and did it manually. First, I moved all the .DOC DATA files over. The next day, I moved all the .XLS DATA files over. Then, P/Point files. Then, .jpg pictures files. The, .AVI video files over, etc. etc. Each day, I manually "moved" files to my USB stick, then moved them over to my new Mac. Having 25+ years experience within IS/IT field (including previous PC and Mac Desktop support roles), I NEVER trust automatic migration programs. For me, I "move" (actually, I copy - to keep source files and structure untouched) files over manually. And, move (copy) them over every other day - pacing myself with a clear mind. And I do it within phases - just in case I have to perform a manual roll-back.

    As a suggestion, start with "fresh" Mac OS, than add Apple Updates, then tweak the OS / base folders the way you like it, then "manually" transfer DATA files over via USB stick. This approach works great for me. Today, my iMac is solid as a rock.

    Hope this helps....

    .
     

Share This Page