My NEW iPhone 6 Plus is USED! WTH!?!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sillywabbit, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #1
    I just took my new iPhone out of the box and when to settings saw that my phone has 6 hours and 21 minutes on the clock already.

    How can my new iPhone out of the box be used already?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. antiprotest macrumors 65816

    antiprotest

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
  3. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Did you restore from a backup?
     
  4. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
  5. AbSoluTc macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #5
    Was it sealed? Did it have the plastic on the phone? Was everything in order?

    If so, it's not used.

    If you restored from a backup, it will give similar results.
     
  6. Starfyre macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #6
    And an alarm was set? Something just seems fishy....
     
  7. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #7

    Actually, I was at work and don't have iTunes there so I downloaded it to the office computer.

    Stuck in my old iPhone 5 and backed it up.

    Pulled out the SIM card and placed it in the new phone and tried to restore it.

    It didn't work, none of my apps transferred over. Only my photos, texts, email and contact list moved over. That is it.

    ----------


    Yes, sealed and everything in order. Purchased from verizon.

    I did try to restore from back up (see my above post about it).

    I guess that could be it, restore from backup (however I think mine failed).
     
  8. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    Isn't the call time from your carrier, not the phone? If you got the iPhone on an existing plan wouldn't it carryover from your last phone? I bet the data would too.
     
  9. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #9
    My NEW iPhone 6 Plus is USED! WTH!?!


    I didn't notice that, I guess that also came from restore?
     
  10. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Should be tied to the device/backup only.
     
  11. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #11

    I didn't realize the call time was from my carrier.

    Wow, if that is from my old phone, 6 hours on a 2 year phone is like I never used it wow!
     
  12. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #12
    Well, now I see that the OP restored from a backup so I bet that's it.

    ----------

    I don't know that for sure, it was just a guess. lordofthereef thinks it isn't, but it would come over with a restore. I bet that's it. Can you check to see if it matches your old phone?
     
  13. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #13

    Apps didn't transfer over probably because they weren't transferred from your old phone to your work computer. I think iTunes asks you first if you want to transfer apps from the phone to your computer.
     
  14. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #14
    The restore was successful. You just didn't transfer purchased apps from your phone to office computer so they weren't restored.

    If you have iCloud setup and use backup it can restore everything for you.

    You can check when your last iCloud backup was in settings->iCloud->backup. You can also erase all content and settings on your phone and restore it to the iCloud backup without the computer if you want.
     
  15. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #15

    I will check when I get home as I am at the library using their wifi and trying to download most of my apps since when I tried to restore from iTunes, none of my apps came over.
     
  16. Starfyre macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #16
    Congratulations, how does it feel to suddenly know you have a BRAND NEW device that was originally thought to be used and you don't have to play the waiting game

    :)
     
  17. vi2867 macrumors 6502

    vi2867

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Eastvale, CA
    #17
    Make an appointment to the Genius bar and take it back to apple.
     
  18. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #18

    I see, thanks.

    Man, I learn something new every time I come on here!
     
  19. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #19
    Do you still have the previous phone? Just set it to do an iCloud backup.
     
  20. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #20

    It feels wonderful!

    ----------


    Yes, have the old phone but it is at home at the moment.

    I stopped backing up to icloud because it said I was out of memory/space and the last back up was in February 2014, long time ago.
     
  21. tekkt0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
  22. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #22

    My old phone shows cellular is shaded (won't let me click it) and says no sim:

    [​IMG]

    However, based in everyone's consensus, it appears to be related to the restore.

    Thanks all you everyone's help!
     

Share This Page