My new macbook pro (sr) doesn't find my wifi network.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MrYB, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. MrYB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #1
    Hi well I'm typing this on my girlfriends macbook (first rev), when I scan for networks with the macbook airport I get alot of hits (10-15 networks) including our own.
    But when I try to search for networks with my macbook pro I only find one network which is not even mine.
    Is the problem with the routher or is it the mb pro?
    Sorry for being so noobie :p
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    i have the exact same problem, i have yet to fix it aswell. when you go to the aiport menubar just connect to "Other" network and put in ur network name and password and it should find him

    DoFoT9
     
  3. MrYB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #3
    Yeah it works lite that, thanks!
    But what can be the problem, same thing in school I cant find the wireless network there everyone else can. Well thanks again and if you find out what the problem is please get back to me:)
     
  4. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #4
    When you go to System Preferences and then Network and then Airport, what option is selected?

    "Join automatically" or "Preferred Networks"? I recommend setting it to Join Automatically, but if not, make sure your networks appear in the preferred networks.
     
  5. gunnmjk macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #5
    As the owner of a older powerbook, I have experienced this problem as well. It appears that the metal encasing on the Mac Book pro inhibits the wireless reception. I tested this in an Apple Store with brand new MBP's and MacBooks, and saw similar results that you saw. The mac books had a long list of available networks, while the mac book pro only picked up a few. In my own house, I never had problems with reception, because I would usually be within 70 ft or so from the access point.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    oh its the case is it>??< i find that some networks i can join (my schools is fine) some always come up, and some are all over the place (such as my home network) i regularly have to type in my network name and pwd.. i moved my name to the top, so ill see what that does now.
     

Share This Page