My new WD external drive seems dead. 2 questions.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MareLuce, Jul 19, 2019.

1. MareLuce macrumors 6502a

MareLuce

I purchased a Western Digital My Passport Ultra 4tb during a WD website summer sale. ($89 total)

15 minutes into a time machine backup, the drive seemed to die.
    I can no longer access it from my MacBook Pro.

=== Given that I am not experienced with MacOS, 2 questions:

1) How can I really really be sure the drive is dead based on what MacOS tells me?

2) During that 15 minutes, a lot of personal data was transferred.

If the drive is dead, how can I be sure that the personal data I transferred is inaccessible to someone really smart at hard drive data recovery?

Before, on Windows, before I tossed old drives in laptops, I use SDEL (secure delete) set at military encryption level from the command line.

=== Just venting

I've thought about NOT returning it and eating the $89 rather than leaving my personal data exposed, since I can't seem to access it to re-format it.

But I've had too many WD drives die in the past 2-3 years. I want them to pay / refund my $.
    How much is "too many" ?
    At least 50% of the My Passport Ultras I've ordered online during their sales have died.
    Maybe the drives they put on sale are duds?

Worst example:
    When RMA-ing the wireless My Passport drive, 2 replacement drives in a row were duds and flashed error codes within 10 min of usage.
    After the 2'nd dud, I pleaded to WD for my $ back. Nope. (Outside of 30 days)

I asked for a regular (non-wireless) My Passport Ultra, NOT another wireless.
    But they would only give me one valued at $100 less than what I paid for the original My Passport Wireless drive
    I asked for a replacement of a different drive closer to the equal value I paid.
    "No."

2. chscag macrumors 68040

chscag