My New Windows 7 Experiment

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by MegaSignal, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. MegaSignal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #1
    Well, folks, I got sucked into the Windows 7 craze and, when it was required to update the kid's 14-year-old Dell, I not only opted for another Dell, but an over-built Dell 9000 (with 8G of RAM), including Windows 7.

    $2200 and nearly two months later, my Dell 9000 Intel i7-920-equipped finally arrived at my doorstep. (Included in that price was a complete and official version of Windows 7 Home Premium, as I did not want to deal with any of Dell's pre-loaded bloatware - which I had to purchase for an additional $200, plus the additional SATA HDD).

    After installing a new HDD, the fresh box of Windows 7 only required about 22 minutes to load - along with all requisite drivers. So far, so good - very Mac-like!

    Here's the rub:
    >Forget video editing; after $300 of additional software (Adobe Premier Elements, Dazzle, Microsoft Live etc.), all apps are unusable, in that they either quit unexpectedly or won't work with anything 64-bit.

    >Want to create multiple users between yourself and others? You can, but forget about quick user switching; it takes quite a while to switch from one user to another...so what's the point?

    >I'll never know whether or not that expensive quad-core i7-920 is all that fast, as I've never been able to really put it to work at anything other then web browsing or on-line gaming.

    >I'm sure that given any single program, this machine is probably fast - but starting and/or shutting down multiple applications takes several minutes of HDD churning before I can even use them; so what's the point of a fancy microprocessor?

    >With regard to Windows 7: Lots of improvements here, with the quick installation, automatic installation of all drivers, and so far no blue screens of death. (Oh wait. My 2006 Mac Pro has done that all along... /rant off) And yeah, I really like the new tricks of wiggling and dragging windows here and there. But instead of Exposé, I get this half-throttled 'peek' that merely tells me where the OUTLINE of open windows are, without a way to choose any of them. Lack of a true Exposé is nearly a deal-killer for me.

    >While I can get dozens of programs for anything from photos, videos, and audio, they all seem to have the same 'flavor' - which is not very good. No doubt with a Mac, the amount of software may be limited, but it's all useable stuff, which is key - if one doesn't use it, it shouldn't even be on one's HDD in the first place IMHO.

    Moral of the Story
    My intent here is not to bash Microsoft; I made the decision to purchase what I purchased and I'll stand by my decision; I think both Microsoft and Dell have a good product here, although not necessarily "insanely great". In addition, the kids are delighted, with a good gaming machine as well as a great way to get their homework done. It's just that I believe I could've accomplished this with half of the funds by opting for the cheapest Dell - that's all, as we've always had both a Mac as well as a PC in our home.

    If this can aid anyone here with a purchasing decision, be my guest. Comments welcome!
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    It goes to show, and I've said this from the start, Windows simply doesn't utilize it's hardware to the fullest..MacOS does...

    The system is simply too heavy and half-baked to get it done the way you want it to.

    And yeah, I like Windows 7 a whole lot better than XP or Vista. But it STILL doesn't look finished!! I swear if Microsoft were painters they'd leave the place with scaffolding up, a thin coat and paint buckets laying around. FINISH THE JOB! Not to mention it's inconsistent across the system, sometimes files look all glassy and shiny and then if you go into certain folders you get the ones they've been using since 1995!!! I thought they started from the ground up, but they decided to go back and get the old icons?! They made an effort to use old inconsistent icons?!

    It just isn't refined, the developers have NO passion about their work, unlike Apple. They're sleazy car salesman with a shirt-eating grin that will tell you anything to make a sale.

    :killall rant.wtf
     
  3. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #3
    I've just the other day had a chance to use Win 7 a bit, and I must say that you are spot on. My BIG UI peeve is that the inconsistent ribbon interface is bloody awful. It's different in every program. :eek: It reminds me of why I hate Office 2007's interface on my XP machine...

    Overall, I'm sure it's a step forward over Vista, but anyone who makes claims that it is better that OS X is full of their fanboyism.
     
  4. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    Ribbon menus >< ribbons! RIBBONS!

    I swear this is a ploy by Microsoft to differentiate themselves from Apple to try and look like an innovator XD "Remember how our last OS was? Well this one is different which means we MUST have innovated, right?"

    Other than that, the programs I run are fine. I can run Paint and COD fine, no crashes no bugs. It's the system itself that just melts my brain slowly.

    I've NEVER heard someone in person start a Vista or 7 machine that didn't have a warning dialog window at start, haha. I swear sometimes it breaks to add excitement XD
     
  5. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #5
    You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear... ;) I may yet do 7 if only for gaming. But like you, the system itself melts my brain and drives me up the wall.
     
  6. BongoBanger macrumors 68000

    BongoBanger

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #6
    Unlucky. Can't say I've had any issues on my Quad Core Box with W7. Come to think of it, I rarely boot back into OS X on my Macbook now either.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Can you elaborate with any proof? I hear this far too often.
     
  8. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #8
    Running Windows on my MacBook Pro...slow to react...spastic graphics effects...sheering ghosting and artifacts...as well my 400mhz iMac G3 with Tiger pounded the unholy crap out of my 1ghz Pentium III with XP, but I suspect that has more to do with the processor architecture. Then while using OS X on my MacBook Pro it's...it's just perfect, I swear the ONLY problem I've ever had is with that damn hard drive...every time I save or open a saved file I get a beachball for a good 5 seconds!

    Other than that it's smooth as butter...butterific!
     
  9. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #9
    No links or proof here, but basically Apple designs for a limited number of hardware, while Microsoft designs for a very broad number of hardware, so it would make sense for OS X to more fully utilize the hardware than Windows 7 does.

    Vertical integration and all that. Not saying it's better, just telling it as I see it.
     
  10. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #10
    Exactly! The hardware and software are optimized for one another.
     
  11. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #11
    Something is broken or is set up wrong. I have an i7 homebuilt machine at home running Win 7 and Premiere is fine. The HDD doesn't churn for several minutes. I can run Photoshop, Premiere, 3DS Max, Chrome, Word, Excel.... all at once and they're fine. Either you, or your machine, is doing something wrong.
     
  12. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #13
    It's what I've been told when OS X is doing something I don't like.

    In this case - I know it to be true - as I know Win 7 on the level of hardware he's talking about to be more than capable of functioning very very well from first hand experience.

    Something is either broken or fundamentally not right with his machine or installation of Win7
     
  13. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #14
    You bought a Dell? Should have purchased parts from Tiger Direct or Newegg and assembled yourself. You could have saved a big chunk of change.
     
  14. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #15
    Not true in all cases, Mac OS X (especially (Snow) Leopard) make pretty bad use of Intel's GMA 950/X3100 used in a LOT of MacBooks. Now, I know the GMA950 is a slow chip, but in my experience, it works much better in Windows. Could be drivers, but I can't change drivers on Mac OS X so I'm stuck with the drivers that Apple ships with Mac OS X...

    Also in general, I don't think Mac OS X uses hardware that much better than in Windows. Not saying Windows is better, but Windows makes good use of hardware. Windows has other issues that I will not discuss here (just like Mac OS X has it's issues) but that does not have much to do with hardware if you ask me.
     
  15. MegaSignal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #16
    No doubt. I'll be fiddling with it a little this weekend to see if I can get it to work; I'd really like to use all of that horsepower. Premiere Elements quits unexpectedly after about an hour of importing video from a tape-based Sony digital camcorder. Could this be a driver issue?
     
  16. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #17
    Windows 7 is fantastic on my netbook. Fast and responsive. You have a serious problem with it or some badly matched hardware (always a possible issue with Windows). On my iMacs, video editing software like Movie Maker never crashes under W7 x64.
     
  17. MegaSignal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #18
    I appreciate the info. Clearly there is something wrong somewhere; I'm confident that I'll be able to find it eventually.
     
  18. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #19
    I'd try a reinstall of Windows, or at least the program. There's no reason why any program should crash after a little use. Also, try to un-learn the OS X way of doing things, use the task-bar for your exposé function, and try using aero-snap a bit.

    Like another poster who hardly uses OS X on his MBP, I'm stuck using OS X and wish I could use Windows 7 right now.
     
  19. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #20
    let me get this right.

    you expect people to believe a brand new, $2200 dell laptop takes minutes to close/open most apps. and all apps are quitting unexpectedly?

    there are bs everywhere in the world

    and then there is your post.

    Im glad my $300 eMachine does much better than your $2200 dell, but im afraid i can't convince myself to believe obvious slanders.
     
  20. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #21
    I feel so sorry for you. :p I'm very glad I am using OS X and not Windows 7. ;) :D Cannot live without a Unix command line!
     
  21. dsnort macrumors 68000

    dsnort

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    In persona non grata
    #22
    There's obviously something wrong with you machine, this is definitely not the norm for Win 7. If the unit is new, I'd get Dell support involved. They should be able to walk you through some tests the will show whether the issue is hardware or software related.

    Wow, who peed in your corn flakes?
     
  22. MegaSignal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #23
    That's cool; I completely understand your post.

    There are actually two reasons for my post:

    1. It's no secret I'm a little peaved at the situation; I wanted to vent a little.

    2. Obviously something is wrong; constructive input can only help my situation.

    My decision to drop in a new HDD and fresh Windows 7 install simply to avoid all of the freeware may be the reason for the difficulties I'm having; not ever the one to burn one's bridges, I have left the original hard drive untouched. I am going to unplug the extra HDD and simply fire up the one that came with the machine, as this whole thing could be due to a mismatch of drivers; I should have some time to do this in a few days.

    Take my post for what it's worth; I'll always have both machines in my house, as my new Dell is staying here. The old Dimension began flashing me an amber LED, indicating a power problem within the motherboard. At twelve years, I wasn't going to attempt to fix it, hence, my decision to replace it.

    Stay tuned...
     
  23. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #24
    Do a clean install of Win 7- then the first thing to do after that is windows update for it to pull in any missing drivers. THEN - start installing apps and see how you go.
     
  24. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    There shouldn't be any "way" of doing it that is outside the obvious. No doubt there are more users out there with the same experiences as the OP.

    This doesn't discount the possibility of there being a hardware issue.
     

Share This Page