My only backup is of when I was jailbroken

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by louis0nfire, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. louis0nfire macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #1
    I just did a factory restore, if I restore from that jailbroken backup will I be jailbroken again? (I don't want to be).
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    Nope.
     
  3. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #3
    You will not be jailbroken but there will be some remnants from the jailbreak left over when you restore. It's not a big deal (I've restored from a "jailbroken" backup many times) but you should know that just in case you're planning to bring your phone to a genius bar for some reason.
     
  4. louis0nfire thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #4
    Will that affect performance AT ALL?
     
  5. grantsdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #5
    No.
     
  6. mpossoff macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #6
    If there are remnants what do you do when you need to go to the apple store for warranty/apple care? There have been posts that a jailbreak can't be detected if when you need to bring iPhone to genius bar.
     
  7. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #7
    DFU restore.
     
  8. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #8
    and to be clear you'd have to get a really jerk of a genius to dig through your user data to find signs of jailbreaking just to refuse you service. They just don't want to see Cydia or themes running when you bring it in. Don't worry about restoring your backup.
     

Share This Page