My Passport Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by candicewest, Aug 16, 2016.

  1. candicewest macrumors newbie

    candicewest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    #1
    I am desperately trying to get my MacBook Air to allow me to use a brand new external hard drive (thus the title My Passport Problem). When I try to open the installer JPNLanguagePack Installer.pkg I get the following message: JPNLanguagePack Installer.pkg can't be opened because it is from an unidentified developer. Your security preferences allow installation of only apps from Mac App Store and identified developers.

    I don't know what to do as this is the the link that comes up with the My Passport. I'm not real tech savvy so I am just lost as to what to do. Can somebody please tell me what to do? I joined Mac Rumors through facebook so I'm not sure what email address your responses will go to. Please send responses to candicewestcaw@gmail.com
    Thanks.
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    I don't see why you would need to install that application.

    If you can't write to the drive out of the box, it's probably formatted as NTFS. You need to open Disk Utility and format it as OS X Extended (Journaled). Here's a guide:

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201909
     
  3. elf69 macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    open preferences, security, then change the settings for app installer.

    E.g. allow from anywhere.

    But seriously DON'T do what I just typed for your own security!

    However agree with above why install language pack?

    A quick google shows that is a japan language pack.

    Passport drives by default tend to be NTFS so you will have problems.
    I bought paragon NTFS driver for my mac and so glad I did very happy now.
     
  4. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #4
    Alternatively, you can right-click the pkg and select to open/run it, this will bypass Gatekeeper without permanently disabling it.
     

Share This Page