My PC cannot connect to Time Capsule Driver to perform backup

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by IncreaseMather, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. IncreaseMather macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #1
    Little help please.

    My Time Capsule and PC (Windows XP) communicate well wirelessly. I am able to access the internet and use AirPort Utility to change settings on the Time Capsule if needed.

    However, I have NOT been able to perform a backup on my PC yet. I am not able to access the Driver and don't really know what to do to fix it.

    Under the "Network Drivers" section, the PC says that it is a "Disconnected Network Drive", and when I try to open it up, it says "Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password".

    Reading other threads, I've already checked and verified that the PC and the T.Capsule are using the same Workgroup name. I am not sure that I have Bonjour loaded on my PC. Is it necessary?

    Thanks a TON for this help. This is driving me nuts.

    -Dan
     
  2. martynmc7, Aug 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 13, 2011

    martynmc7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #2
    http://www.foreverwarm.com/using-time-capsule-with-a-windows-pc/

    The Time Capsule isn't really designed to backup with a Windows PC, it's supposed to integrate with the Time Machine software which comes on every Mac.

    If you want to use the Time Capsule as a networked hard drive see the guide above.


    Note from the moderators: The web page referenced above is now here.
     
  3. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #3
    Great information, thanks Marty...

    I've tried to set it up to back-up my Wife's Vista PC with no luck. I will try the above.

    Cheers.
     
  4. IncreaseMather thread starter macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #4
    Marty, thanks for the reply and the website. I still can't get it to open up the drive though.

    Any other ideas? It recognizes that the drive is there, but can't get it open.
     

Share This Page