my Quadro 5000 works after installing OSX 10.8!!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bluesteel, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. bluesteel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    so, i installed OSX 10.8 and after the installation and reboot my nVidia Quadro 5000 was working!! my Mac Pro has a Quadro 4000 and 5000 installed, but i was only able to use the Quadro 4000 with OSX 10.7, and both worked in Windows 7. now i can use both Quadros with 10.8...holy cow, this is really cool!! :)
     
  2. zerb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    #2
    sweet! im curios to see how many other cards will be supported with 10.8 right out of the gate now. boot screen and all?
     
  3. bluesteel, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012

    bluesteel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    no boot screen, sorry. i couldn't believe it when the cinema display connected to the Quadro 5000 lit up... i'm still going to use the Quadro 5000 under Windows 7 just because i know the drivers (performance driver) take full advantage of the video card under windows.
     
  4. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #5
    I assume your Quadro4K is connected to one of your LCDs, and that's the only one that lights up during the grey Apple boot screen?

    jas
     
  5. bluesteel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    yes, during the gray boot screen, only the Quadro 4000 lights up. at the login screen, both displays are lit up. now i understand...lol....with only the quadro 5000 connected, i don't see a gray boot screen....its black until the login screen.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    Much like Dorothy who was wearing the "Magic" Ruby slippers for an entire 2 hour movie before she figured out how to use them, the Q5K can work in 10.7.3 forward by just installing the 10.7.3 or 10.7.4 Quadro drivers from Nvidia site.

    Same functionality would also work back to 10.6.8 using ATY_Init dropped in your extension folder.

    ie, all you ever had to do was click your heels together and the card would have been working for some time now.

    Card will be running at PCIE 1.0 speeds, as can be confirmed by lspci or CUDA-Z.

    It is nice that Apple has finally allowed Nvidia's "Magic" self init drivers into shipping OS.

    Just about any Nvidia card will work in this same fashion.
     
  7. bluesteel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    i'm always checking nVidia for newer drivers....there have never been any drivers for a Quadro 5000 for Mac OSX.
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #9
    The Quadro 4000 drivers have held Quadro 5000, 6000 and Tesla 2050 and 2070 support since 10.6.8.

    Just had to click those heels.
     
  9. bluesteel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #10
    i've had the latest Quadro 4000 for Mac driver on my Mac Pro at all times, and my Quadro 5000 never worked under OSX at any time.

    maybe there is something wrong with my my mac....
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    With 10.6.8 through 10.7.2 you needed to use ATY_Init

    From 10.7.3 and 10.7.4 you need to run the Nvidia Quadro 4000 update ON TOP of Mac OS update.

    10.7.5 Beta has support baked in as does 10.8.

    Hence the thread Netkas linked.
     
  11. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #12
    Right, because there's a subtle but important difference between "officially supported" (i.e. the cards listed on the NVIDIA driver page) versus "just works". Don't expect to get any official support for your Quadro 5000 if you use it in a Mac Pro, but yeah, it pretty much works out of the box now.
     
  12. unclegit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #13
    Try using the display's in rotated 90 degree mode and let me know if they puke.

    I upgraded to ML and I'm having issues with my side displays that run off my 8800GT card as I normally run them in portrait mode.
     

Share This Page