My quest for more volume update

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by clayk, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. clayk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #1
    I thought I would post an update on my speakerphone volume issue. I arranged for Apple to send me a loaner. It arrived today. I have a sound level meter so I took some measurements. My current ringtone is “Old Phone”. At maximum volume the speaker puts out 89 db. I then called time and temperature, set the speakerphone to max volume and it measured 66 db.

    The loaner phone from Apple measures exactly the same. So I am now skeptical that the volume can be increased, but I am still hopeful. I will test the “fixed” phone when it returns and post the results.

    On a side note, I convinced Apple to waive the $29 fee for the loaner. It took a while, but I just kept talking (very politely of course) pointing out that it was a bad policy and they finally relented.

    I also tested the sound level of my old Razr. Ringtone was 98db and speakerphone was 88db.
     
  2. clayk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #2
    I got my phone back this morning. They really just sent me a new one. It is a bit louder. Ringtone was 97 db (up from 89db) and speaker phone was 78db.

    Clay
     
  3. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    So the speaker phone went down?
     
  4. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    What is the distance of measurement, sound meter brand, A or C weighted and room parameters?
     
  5. clayk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #5
    The volume of the speaker phone went up, from 69 to 78

    The distance was very close, about 10 inches. I kept it the same distance on both tests. I realize that is much closer than you would use the phone, but I am comparing Apples to Apples. The room was fairly quiet, the radio shack meter I used registered 54 db background noise. The weighting was set on "C" but I have no idea what that means.


    Clay
     

Share This Page