My sister's puppy needs surgery....

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by tkepongo, Aug 20, 2008.

1. tkepongo macrumors regular

tkepongo

My sister called and asked for money to pay for her puppy's heart surgery. It'll cost between $2000 to $3000. I only earn $8 an hour. I'm a college student and that is alot of money. The only problem about putting that dog to sleep is that he's not in pain or anything, and MY dog would be really depressed. What do you guys think she should do?

2. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

Is your sister younger or older than you? Does she have a full time job? Also, what about your parents?
    Will this surgery completely cure the dog, or will in need continual treatment after that costing even more?

If you are a student and only make $8 an hour it seems to me that you don't have thousands of dollars to give to your sister.

3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

If it is a puppy, while you might really want to pay now ... if it isn't a 100% cure, then the cost over the next 10-15 years can really be big.

Bad enough to see the costs to extend a senior dogs life a year or two.

But to be hit while the dog is a puppy. :eek:

4. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

iJohnHenry

Why in Hell would your dog be depressed???

She is asking too much, IMO.

5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

its just a dog. put it to sleep and get a new one

or just let him be but there is NO way i would pay that kind of cash for a dog, esp if i was strapped for cash

6. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

MICHAELSD

7. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

I'm sorry but your first comment is incredibly insensitive...

To the OP, I would suggest your sister save up her money as best she can, maybe you could get some kind of puppy drive? get your local community to help you out or something.