Apple TV My Son tried to Jailbreak apple tv 3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sarahjannett, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. sarahjannett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #1
    We just received our Apple TV 3 and without my consent, my son tried to jailbreak it using the instructions for Apple TV 2. Now the light just blinks rapidly. I have tried to restore it to original setting through itunes. Please help. I do not know what to do.
     
  2. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    You need to put the ATV into DFU mode (google it, and you will see several Step by step and Videos about it).

    Once on DFU mode, just restore using iTunes.

    * note that you need a MicroUSB cable, and entering DFU most of time take a few tries.

    Here is a Link: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=12379
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    He couldn't have done anything bad to it. It sounds like it's in DFU mode. Just unplug it and plug it back in again. It should start up just fine. Also, the Apple TV 3 may never be jailbroken.
     
  4. alexreich macrumors 6502a

    alexreich

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #4
    Plug the device into your computer (assuming that you have a micro-USB cable, since your son attempted to jailbreak it). Put it in DFU by holding the Menu+Down buttons while pointing the remote at it, the light should blink rapidly, then release the buttons. iTunes should open saying that there is a device in Recovery mode that needs to restore. Should be a simple fix.

    You really can't brick these things. :)
     
  5. sarahjannett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #5
    chord problem?

    I have tried to do all these things and the light is still blinking rapidly. When it gets to itunes it starts to try to restore and then there is an error. Is there a chance the cable I'm using is wrong?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  7. sarahjannett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #7
    Did not work


    I tried this, itunes recognized it and and proceeded to try and restore, while this process was going on the light went back to flashing normally. Itunes reported that it is "preparing the AppleTV for restore", then I get an error message saying it was unable to restore and the light goes back to blinking rapidly (but not as rapid as is blinks when entering DFU mode)

    ----------

    the last error I received was 21, before that it was 1611
     
  8. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    * Make sure the power cord is NOT connected.
    * Make sure that your son doesn't have Tiny Umbrella running on the background so that you are in fact pulling the authentication from Apple servers and not from Cydia (If he tried to Jailbrake the device, your son should know what all that is, so ask him, if he doesn't know, try another computer, that is usually what Error 1611 is).
    * Error 21 mean you are trying to restore using recovery mode... you need to be 100% you are on DFU mode (not recovery mode).
     
  9. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #9
    he tried to jailbreak an aTV3 maybe not.
     
  10. alexreich macrumors 6502a

    alexreich

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #10
    Leave power cable unplugged from the device. Only the USB cable should be plugged into the device, which is plugged into the computer.

    Also, to make sure TinyUmbrella ($#*t software it is) isn't running press option+command+escape to bring up the Force Quit menu. If you see TinyUmbrella, kill it.

    Assuming you are using a Mac with the above instructions.
     
  11. x64Man macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #11
    This is from Apple TV 3 Manual, hope it helps.

    To restore Apple TV using iTunes:

    Disconnect the power and HDMI cables from Apple TV and take it to your computer.

    Connect one end of a micro USB cable (sold separately) to the back of Apple TV, and the other end to your computer.

    Connect one end of the Apple TV power cord to the power port on the back of Apple TV and the other end to a power outlet.

    Open iTunes on your computer, select Apple TV in the Source list, and then click Restore.
     
  12. JoshBoy macrumors 6502

    JoshBoy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    To place it into dfu mode you need to use the buttons one the remote. Look up firecores instructions (google it) if you have any issues with this PM me
     
  13. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #13
    Where did you buy it? You could simply swap it.
     
  14. reberto macrumors 65816

    reberto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #14
    If I'm not mistaken, the ATV3 requires both the MicroUSB and power cable to be connected in order for it to be restored via iTunes. The power draw from the ATV3 is too much for just MicroUSB.

    At least that's exactly what I have to do where I work to restore returned Apple TV 3's.
     
  15. kartel1983 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    #15
    I had the same problem recently, after a failed jailbreak of apple TV 3 couldn't restore in iTunes. I've tried several times on my MBP but without result. ATV was just blinking and requsted connection with iTunes on the TV screen... The restoring ended with an 1611 error each time. Finally I instaled iTunes on my wifes PC and did the restore again, unpluged the USB kable and pressed HOME/PLAY for 6-7 seconds. The ATV3 is working fine.

    Hope it helps
     
  16. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #16
    That is correct. Unlike what previous posters have said, with a 3rd gen AppleTV, the power cord is required.

    Straight from Apple's support pages:

     
  17. velmarosina macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Location:
    perth wa
    #17
    Can you please tell me if this was fixed? I have done the same thing..
     

Share This Page