Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

My tangerine iMac G3 DV!

0ranges

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2012
24
0
Hello, a new user here also introducing my orange iMac G3 400mhz I bought the other day. It is in awesome shape and was stored safely for 7 years. Cost me $35 for everything a few days ago. It seems this is the best place for information on more modern macs so I come with a question. Will a 500Mhz processor work in this model? 100 more Mhz would be :cool: . Already upgraded the memory and hard disk. Would love a G4 upgrade but those are probably beyond my reach.



guts

 

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,905
426
Inside
A 500mhz, 600mhz, and 700mhz logic board will work in that model. The only way to upgrade those to a G4 was by sending it off to a company to have a new one soldered to the board. The company no longer does this and finding one with a G4 is very rare as the upgrade was very expensive.
 
Comment

0ranges

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2012
24
0
Ok so I would need to change out the whole logic board?
 
Comment

0ranges

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2012
24
0
thanks for the info. I only see a few on ebay, the highest is a 600mhz. It is tempting... but I will wait for a 700mhz.
 
Comment

Cox Orange

macrumors 68000
Jan 1, 2010
1,788
234
(...) It seems this is the best place for information on more modern macs so I come with a question. (...)

What do you mean by modern? this Mac is 10-11 years old.

Good luck and lots of fun with your new old Mac, though!
 
Comment

666sheep

macrumors 68040
Dec 7, 2009
3,628
237
Poland
It seems this is the best place for information on more modern macs so I come with a question

Cox, I think that this is the point - more modern than iMac G3 ;)

OP: if you'll get 600 MHz logic board and you have soldering skills on a good level, it's simple to overclock it to 700. You'll gain 16MB graphics and 300 MHz extra CPU juice ;) I have snow 600 OC'ed to 700 and it runs fine for over a year.
 
Comment

Cox Orange

macrumors 68000
Jan 1, 2010
1,788
234
:) well I wanted to imply the question, whether he had actually planned to buy a modern Mac, but was not aware the iMac G3 is that old. Though I love iMac G3s and have one myself, I'd recommend selling it and getting a PowerMac G4 with better CPU and for the same price (at least on Ebay Germany they go for the same prices, normally).
 
Comment

0ranges

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2012
24
0
Oh! I wasn't really clear about coming here for information on modern macs I guess. Although I do have an Xserve and a Quicksilver, most of the macs I have are much older than this (1990-95) so this iMac G3 is actually modern equipment to me since I haven't owned a mac past G4! :p
 
Comment

0ranges

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2012
24
0
OP: if you'll get 600 MHz logic board and you have soldering skills on a good level, it's simple to overclock it to 700. You'll gain 16MB graphics and 300 MHz extra CPU juice ;) I have snow 600 OC'ed to 700 and it runs fine for over a year.

In addition to better graphics and MHZ, I could have ETHERNET! (dead controller)

I am bidding on one on ebay . Im a novice solder guy, I need to practice with a better soldering iron than I own currently..So the real 700 G3 logic board could be upped to 800 this way?
 
Last edited:
Comment

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,905
426
Inside
I am bidding on one on ebay . Im a novice solder guy, I need to practice with a better soldering iron than I own currently..So the real 700 G3 logic board could be upped to 800 this way?

Possibly. I've pushed my 350Mhz G3 to 550Mhz before it started to overheat. You may be able to get 900Mhz out of a 700Mhz board.
 
Comment

666sheep

macrumors 68040
Dec 7, 2009
3,628
237
Poland
So the real 700 G3 logic board could be upped to 800 this way?

I doubt. 700MHz is factory limit for PPC750CXe (CPU used in 600 & 700 MHz iMacs G3) - see datasheet. What ensures me in that, is fact that I've never found iMac G3 OC'ed over 700 MHz on the whole Internet. I wish that I'm wrong, though :)
 
Comment

0ranges

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2012
24
0
I doubt. 700MHz is factory limit for PPC750CXe (CPU used in 600 & 700 MHz iMacs G3) - see datasheet. What ensures me in that, is fact that I've never found iMac G3 OC'ed over 700 MHz on the whole Internet. I wish that I'm wrong, though :)

Well..correct me if I'm wrong but to go from 600 to 750, it only requires mounting 2 resistors? Doesn't sound like I would botch it up..hopefully I can get a new MB!
 
Comment

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,905
426
Inside
Well..correct me if I'm wrong but to go from 600 to 750, it only requires mounting 2 resistors? Doesn't sound like I would botch it up..hopefully I can get a new MB!

Four, but only two may need to be changed. There are places for speeds up to 1Ghz, in 50Mhz intervals.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.