My theory why on no tether / MMS

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by lavrishevo, Jun 13, 2008.

1. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

lavrishevo

I think it boils down to AT&T's inability to provide data service for the millions upon millions of additional customers the iPhone has brought to the company. I believe they are having a hard enough time keeping the ability to call out reliable let alone providing services that allow for a lot of data flow back to the their servers / network. I am no expert but it is the only logical reason I can think of. The amount of customers that the lack of these features deters is considerable. I am sure AT&T wants as many customers as they can get so to disable these feature from such a wonderful device can only mean they can not handle it at this point. The lack of the tether feature is something I am really... really disappointed in...

Sorry about the "on" in the title... trying to type this and take care of my infant son at the same time... lol

2. docal97 macrumors 6502a

docal97

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

I dont use that feature much myself but it is too hard to believe that apple would overlook something that is so basic in just about every phone known to man. I am somewhat surprised that it is not included in the new firmware.

One can always hope for a surprise although I doubt it.

3. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

i dont think its att. both MMS and tethering would bring them more money. if they had a tethering plan they could charge something like $60/month. steve jobs is behind this.

4. buccsmf1 macrumors 6502

i'm waiting till the app store launches till i rule anything out...

5. mtfield macrumors 6502