My Thoughts on my new 20inch 2.4 GHz iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Joe888, Jan 17, 2009.

  1. Joe888 macrumors member

    Joe888

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #1
    I just received this 20 inch iMac for Christmas..it has 2.4 Ghz processor, 500 GB HD, 4GB memory. So far its fantastic! The 20 inch mondel fits perfectly on my desk, the 24 inch would have been to big even though the 24 inch is a big difference. This is my first mac ever and opening it was amazing. After about 3 weeks of playing around with it, I have to say that it is the best computer I have ever owned. The screen is so bright, which really "wows" my friends whenever they come over. Keep in mind i am only still in high school so the iChat feature comes in very handy. It is extremely fast and it doesn't lag like all the other Dell computers in my house. The only downfall to my iMac is that every time I turn the computer on, the internet signal is down to half way. I have to turn my airport off and then back on again in order for it to be at full strength..this came off pretty unusual to me considering my wireless N router is no more then 20 feet from my room. And there are times where my iMac will just loose signal out of nowhere during the middle of a iChat or Aim session, while all the other Dell computers in my house still have full signal. So idk if this has something to do with the wireless card built into my iMac or what? Another downfall is that my iMac does give off alot of heat and it gets extremely hot. Especially if I am watching any type of video/ movie or doing an iChat. If you feel the top of the computer while watching some type of video for a period of time, you cant keep your hand on it for more then a few seconds without burning yourself. But other then that it is a great computer and so far there has been no major problems at all. I love it. Hope this helps for people who are looking to buy one. If you have any other questions feel free to post them.
     
  2. Xer macrumors newbie

    Xer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    #2
  3. Joe888 thread starter macrumors member

    Joe888

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #3
    If anyone else has this problem, please post.
     
  4. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #4
    I always had wireless router problems when had Windows... thought that was the problem, until I bought a Mac. With my MB (BlackBook) and MBP (v2,2) the same thing happened with all inexpensive wireless routers.

    I then switched to the Apple AirPort Extreme Base Station - N. I do not have anymore wireless problems. No matter if I use my MacBook in OS X or Vista (via Boot Camp). I had tried several types of wireless devices, I have come to the conclusion that Apple has done something right with it's AirPort Extreme Base Station. Before that, I had to reboot in Mac or Windows while using the "other" brands.

    So, consider trying the AirPort Extreme Base Station, $179. I have read that even the AirPort Express is really good for $99.
     
  5. armoguy94 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #5
    Had my new aluminum 20" 2.4ghz imac since September 08 and no problems here, at least not those wireless problems.
     
  6. iStress macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    I agree, I used to have the Beklin N1 router and my imac would lose the wifi signal every 2-4 hours, I had to turn off the Airport and turn it on after 3 minutes to make it discover the network again.

    I was fed up with the hassle so I decided to go "Apple with Apple" and bought the Airport Extreme base station - it's perfect!
     
  7. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    I have an airport extreme base station ("n") and I DO have the wireless problem described by the OP. Turning airport off and on again fixes it, but I would lose the connection so often that I switched to Ethernet (I'm only 10 ft. from the AEBS).

    This is definitely not an isolated issue, but I haven't heard of anyone getting it resolved. I started a whole thread about it. (there is no issue with ethernet on the imac or with another mac, a PC, and an iphone all using the same wireless network. it's an imac-airport specific problem)
     
  8. heavymetal4god macrumors member

    heavymetal4god

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #8
    I took a CLEAN plunger to the glass around the LCD, glossy...

    :(
     
  9. ChadwickNA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
    Glad you like it. :) I'm getting a 24 inch 3.06GHz iMac when I get enough money.
     

Share This Page