My thoughts on the new MacBook Pro after shopping around

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by xxray, Nov 13, 2016.

1. xxray macrumors 6502a

I'm not anyone important, just thought I'd share my thoughts. At first, I was really disappointed in the update. Not because it wasn't "pro" enough or because Apple didn't improve it enough, but because of the price. I've been considering a new laptop since my late 2011 MacBook Pro is just so slow sometimes, and I could really use some more power. Seeing Apple increase the price for hundreds of dollars, just for a touch bar and what seemed like an incremental update was very disappointing.

So I started checking out a few Windows laptops at my local store. I enjoyed the Surface Book quite a bit and was impressed by the features. Enjoyed the touch screen, surface pen, and quality of the product. Checked out Dell XPS line. The screen and form factor were impressive. Tried out some other Windows 2-in-1s and laptops that I don't remember the names of also for a bit. There was also one of the new 13-in MacBook Pros without the touch bar there. I came back to the store multiple times, spending quite a bit of time seeing how I really felt about all the products.

Every time, I kept coming back to the new MacBook Pro. I honestly still don't like Windows (I know this is personal preference). I thought maybe I would like it better since I switched to Macs in 2010, but I don't. I just don't enjoy the feel of it. There were some problems and bugs on some of the computers I was testing out, and it just didn't feel as great of an experience to me as macOS does.

But it wasn't just Windows. None of the computers I looked at felt as premium and high quality to me as a MacBook. The Dell XPS is raved about for its build quality, but it still felt somewhat cheap to me. The Surface Book and Surface Pro came closest to Apple's build quality in my opinion, but it still just didn't feel as high quality to me.