My Top 8 of 2010, C & C Please

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by flosseR, Jan 28, 2011.

1. flosseR, Jan 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011

flosseR macrumors 6502a

flosseR

I realize that its already end of January but I figured I collect my favorite shots from last year. Here they are. I know there is plenty to criticize and i have posted the stonehenge shot before. This is the last time but I would appreciate C & C of the other shots as well... I realize I am still an amateur and still learning so guidance and feedback IS appreciated. I also realize I am nowhere near the level of Phrasikleia, Doylem, PDXflint, Compuwar etc. but hey, I try. So, anything that helps me get better shots in this godforsaken landscape we have here (nothern europe) would be great. :)

WARNING: Linked files are slightly largish..

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. compuwar macrumors 601

compuwar

The first shot doesn't work well for me- the overall scene is too dark to have anything interesting to the eye and the church is too little of the scene to make a good subject. Add to that the fact that the clock's blown out and there's little detail to the scene to enjoy and I just don't think it works well. The mood is right, but the trees on the right are trying to be a leading line and failing because they're too dark and featureless. Shot nearer dawn or dusk I think it might have worked better.

In the second shot, ideally the kids would be turned around so I can see them and connect with them. Absent that, the kid in the back alone, not looking at the back of the head of the one in front would work much better- I'd probably want some fill flash on them too. It works well enough as it is though.