My touch is an iPhone

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by rmh, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. rmh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I saw this link on digg and thought I'd try it out myself, and sure enough, when you type the passcode incorrectly your touch has an identity crisis:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
  3. rmh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Probably laziness or being rushed on the development side.. oh well, its kinda funny to see.
     
  4. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
  5. rmh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Great idea.

    I'm just curious, does this happen on everyones touch?
     
  6. mithykal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #6
    lol, obviously just some sloppiness on behalf of the developers, but still, your screen deffinately doesnt seem to being having any image problems, it looks really clear and nicely contrasted!
     
  7. Superman6966 Guest

    Superman6966

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #7
    It Could Be

    It could be like a walkie talkie thing.:D
    Where people can talk to each other over the internet, To other people that have ipod touch's.
    All you need is the iphone headphones.
    haha. Now all you need is the Firmware upgrade.:p
     
  8. rmh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    So, its an iVOIPphone?
     
  9. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #9
    It seems the iPod Touch has a lot more iPhone influence to it that I initially thought. I now have a very good feeling about it's 'hackablity' to become more like a PDA (ala iPhone).
     
  10. Superman6966 Guest

    Superman6966

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #10
    Yes it is

    Correct,
    Most likely,
    It could be.
    They just forgot to take off the iphone and put in iVOIPphone.
    You wouldn't be surprised what apple can do.:D
     
  11. stcroixsailor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    #11
    yep. here's mine.


    do you know what i hope this means?

    MAIL.APP (and others!, by hackers, of course)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #13
    Lol I suppose it's the same software as the iPhone... it'll probably be fixed with the next software update...
     
  13. MitchVegas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #14
    mine did the same thing...at least for the moment my video seems to be perfect. I have yet to have a problem with mind. (Knock on wood)
     
  14. jhsfosho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska
    #15
    I hope this means a lot of good things for hacking the ipod touch. (MAIL.app)...please?
     
  15. coryetzkorn macrumors regular

    coryetzkorn

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #16
    iPod Touch still shows traces of iPhone interface.

    [​IMG]

    Thought this was funny.

    I was playing around with my beautiful iPod touch (which I absolutely love) and, just for the fun of it, wanted to see what would happen if I kept entering the wrong password. Guess what? A message came up that said "iPhone disabled".

    This goes to show that Apple must have been extremely rushed while preparing the touch for launch day. It makes makes me think the touch is nothing more than an afterthought to bring in some more holiday revenue. It's amazing that something this obvious could make it into the final product (obviously it will eventually get updated).

    If anyone else has found weird traces of the iPhone in the iPod touch, post away!:apple:
     
  16. NotFound macrumors 6502a

    NotFound

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #17
    lol good to know im not the only one who hasnt removed the plastic screen cover.
     
  17. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    yes we know, someone posted about that yesterday

    if anyone dosent believe him i can back him up it really does do that
     
  18. iDAG macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #19
    If you can make the iPod touch do that, then wouldn't the iPhone do that as well? (even tho that doesn't make much sence)
     
  19. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    umm, what?
     
  20. iDAG macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #21
    I mean can u get the same error message on the iPhone? lol sorry:eek:
     
  21. chriswheat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
  22. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #23
    Somebody needs to teach apple about find and replace.
     
  23. Jboelter101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
  24. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #25
    Why are you frustruated? Its a joke that apple just forgot to fix it.

    The new front row in leopard is exactly how it is on the Apple TV. A few builds ago, you could go to the photos folder and it would say "Sorry, you do not have any photos on your Apple TV". Less of a big deal because it was beta software, but still funny.
     

Share This Page