My Vram hasn't increased on iGPU after 10.9.3...any guesses?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lJoSquaredl, Oct 21, 2015.

  1. lJoSquaredl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #1
    I was told after Yosemite 10.9.3 I would see a half gig increase to my intel graphics, visible by the number in "About This Mac" but I haven't seen it change even when using FCPX. Any guesses on why I don't see it or how to activate it? Am I missing a driver or something? I'm updated to 10.10.5.
     
  2. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #2
    It also depends on the amount of RAM in your system.
     
  3. lJoSquaredl thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #3
    Ah so 8gigs prolly wouldn't allow for it then? Gotcha, ty.
     
  4. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #4
    I can't remember the specifics (like how much RAM you need in order to see an increase in iGPU memory) beyond that it depends on how much RAM is in the system, but that could probably be why you didn't see a difference.
     
  5. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #5

    Which macbook version and how much RAM are you using fro iGPU???
     
  6. lJoSquaredl thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #6
    First rMBP version with the 650m, and 8gb of RAM (which I regret cuz I edit video) but neither uses more than 1gb of RAM. I was thinking about upgrading to the Iris Pro model, cuz I hear it does a decent job with openCL, prolly keeps up with 650m in most FCPX situations, and even taking 1.5gigs from the system ram i'd still have plenty more than I do now. It's a lil slower than DDR5 but it is more than the 650m has so I assumed that may help somewhat when editing. Don't know how temperatures and throttling would work tho since it's all in one spot.
     
  7. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    VRAM doesn't directly translate to performance. The Intel graphics aren't limited by VRAM, they're just crappy compared to an actual, separate GPU. They just lack processing power. Your 650M is probably kicking in anyway for heavy lifting, so it's a moot point.
     
  8. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #8
    I believe the HD 4000 is limited to 1024 MB on OS X. The increase in VRAM was, to my understanding, to HD 3000 on 4 GB Macbook Air with an increase to 512 MB from 384 MB and a few 13" Macbook Pro with the Intel Iris 5100, increased from 1024 MB to 1536 MB of VRAM (not sure how much installed, it seemed the 4 GB and select 8 GB model that weren't already 1536 MB were increased).
     

Share This Page