My Windows 7 just took a dump

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rgarjr, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #1
    On my iMac, it just sits on the Windows 7 screen and doesn't go past it.
     
  2. MasterDev macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #2
    It sure must smell... Kind of like when I play Canabalt.

    Anyways, try restarting, if you already did, I'd repair the install via the install disk.
     
  3. rgarjr thread starter macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #3
    Yeah that's what I'm going to do next, otherwise I'm going to blank it out and re-install.
     
  4. MasterDev macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #4
    Yep, best bet is a new install (After you have tried repairing or restore), although it does suck.
     
  5. pknoot macrumors newbie

    pknoot

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    You could try one last thing before reinstalling: hold down the F8 key when you boot into Windows, until you get a screen that allows you to select the start-up mode. Try Safe Mode first and see if it boots up. If not, you will definitely need to reinstall. If it boots, let Windows sit and sort itself out for a few minutes and try a restart without F8. On occasion, this will correct the problem. Otherwise, a reinstall is probably a better use of your time.....
     
  6. rgarjr thread starter macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #6
    Yeah its working now. I just went into Safe Mode and it said something about failed to update windows - reverting back after shutdown.
     

Share This Page