My Wireless Is Sucking... like... hardcore

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jackmack, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. jackmack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    No idea what happened, but for the last few days my wireless has completely gone south.

    I can barely stay online for... maybe 45 minutes before the signal just gives up... the only way to re-connect is to turn off airport, wait a while, then turn it back on and its strong again.

    It's like this at home, at the office, at my friends house.. anywhere. I used to have amazing signal, now nothing.

    Is there a way to figure out if its software or hardware based? Like, with windows, you can do safe-mode... is there a safe-mode for macs to test software stuff?

    It's really pissing me off and its making my laptop unuseable.

    Any advice would be great.

    -jm
     
  2. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    i am having similar issues althought i aint tested it much
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    dads ibook had a similar problem.

    the antenna came loose from the card (i played with it)
    if u can try to get to the card/antenna and see if its dislodged itself..
     
  4. jackmack thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #4
    Forgot to mention... I have a macbook pro, 17", running leopard.

    10.5.1

    I'll check the card thing I guess... I hate unscrewing my laptop though.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    that means that youve done it b4 ;) so it could have become loose...
    my dads ibook got signal (1 bar) while only 3 metres away from the basestation, any further and it wouldnt pick it up! shockin
     
  6. jackmack thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #6
    ill give that a shot then... or ill make the apple monkeys do it
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    yup the appledude just opened it up, went oh heres the problem (click) and it was all sweet :).

    goodluck!

    DoFoT9
     
  8. jackmack thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #8
    You know... I'm looking at specs online... and i thought i could get to the card via the back (like, behind the battery), but it looks like i have to take the front off or something... I'll just take it into a mac store and have a mac monkey do it. I might as well take advantage of my pro-care.
     
  9. fsckminix6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago (847)
    #9
    this is a known problem since 10.4.10 i was a victim of this bug..spent countless hours on the phone with apple care...to no avail. tried different routers rolling back airport drivers. i finally ponied up and bought a aebs and it all works fine...go figure haha but if you want anymore info i would go to the apple mbp support forums there is something like a 500 post thread there about this problem.

    best of luck
     

Share This Page