Myst III Exile DVD on Intel Macs?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by hauntedcity, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. hauntedcity macrumors member

    hauntedcity

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    #1
    I have a copy of the Myst 10th Anniversary DVD set, which includes Myst III: Exile. It includes version 1.27, which has instructions for Mac OS X. I can install and run the game successfully, but the sound is jumpy. The video is smooth and looks great.

    The only sound item in the release notes suggests turning off virtual memory, which I don't think is even possible in 10.4 Tiger. I can't see how this would be a problem, since my HW specs are far beyond what was state-of-the-art when this game was released.

    Anybody have the same problem or know of a solution? I have a MBP (Core 2 Duo, 2.16 GHz, I think) that is patched up to the most recent everything via Software Update.

    Thanks,
    Doug
     
  2. demallien macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    #2
    Hmmm, I don't know, but I have the same DVD at home. I'll try it out on my MacBook tonight and let you know if I have the same problem, and if I found a solution.

    From memory, there is a setup option which allows hardware or software handling of graphics/sound, which can cause problems if you don't select the right option...
     
  3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    The problem would be that Exile is a PPC program, and you have an Intel computer. Performance ain't going to be that great in some games, and it seems Exile is one of those.
     
  4. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #4
    If you read the post again, you'll see that the video is smooth; it's not a performance issue (the game runs fine on slow G3s ;) ). This actually happens on PPC Macs too, no matter how fast they are, if they have more than one CPU. The problem goes away if you temporarily disable one of the CPUs. Not entirely sure if you can do that on MBPs, but I would assume so...this requires installing the developer tools if you haven't already.

    --Eric
     
  5. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    I've had it happen with only one CPU enabled, not just two/four/eight/however many you have. It varies from game to game.
     
  6. hauntedcity thread starter macrumors member

    hauntedcity

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    #6
    Well, I tried downloading the developer tools and disabling 1 of the CPU cores, but I still have the same audio problems. I also tried running the PC version in Parallels, but I get errors saying the resolution isn't supported. :confused:

    Unless anyone has a brilliant solution, I suppose I'll have to use Boot Camp. Anyone? :)

    Doug
     
  7. hauntedcity thread starter macrumors member

    hauntedcity

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    #7
    Update... I tried running in Boot Camp and I got the same error saying the game's resolution and color depth are not supported! :confused:

    Recap:
    - If I try running in OS X, the video looks great, but the audio is too choppy
    - Disabling one processor core makes no difference
    - If I try running in Parallels (XP Home), the game won't even start
    - If I try running in Boot Camp, the game won't even start

    Any other ideas? Do I have to give up and just get the new Cosmic Osmo game from Cyan? :)

    Doug
     
  8. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #8
    I cannot get it to recognize the DVD in the drive. The dialog box that comes up has only one option: CANCEL.

    MBPro late-2008 Leopard 10.5.5.
     
  9. brkirch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2001
    #9
    Create a new folder in the same folder as the Myst III executable, rename it to "Exile DVD" and then drag the Data folder into that.

    As for the sound problems, I made a patch to fix that:
    http://home.comcast.net/~brkirch/MystIIISoundFix.zip
     
  10. bokan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #10
    Sorry for the huge necro, but the site linked for the sound fix appears to be offline. Does anyone have a mirror?
     
  11. unccharlotte07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #11
    I'd also like to get a copy of this fix if someone has it.
     

Share This Page