MyWi and PS3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Pink∆Floyd, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. Pink∆Floyd macrumors 68020

    Pink∆Floyd

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Up There
    #1
    My PS3 seems to be having difficulty connecting to my iPhone 4's MyWi app...

    Has anybody been successful?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    What firmware is your iphone on and what model iphone?
     
  3. treyjustice macrumors 65816

    treyjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #3
    i use PDAnet to play xbox live a little laggy at times but works surprisingly well
     
  4. redrox5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    If you're able, upgrade to 4.3.1, jailbreak and install tetherme. It'll use the built in personal hotspot. This uses infrastructure mode instead of ad-hoc. I've had great success with that on my PS3.
     
  5. Pink∆Floyd thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pink∆Floyd

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Up There
    #5
    I have an iPhone 4, firmware 4.3.1, jailbrocken, MyWi installed

    redrox5, I'll give tetherme a shot
     
  6. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    The MyWi update I just downloaded says it supports infrastructure mode if your iOS is 4.2.6+, FWIW.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Im surprised its not letting you connect.
    MyWi does support infrastructure mode on your firmware version.
     
  8. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
  9. iPhone Addict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    It's funny how perceptions change of what's deemed proper use and what isn't after Apple releases a new feature. Now that we can use infrastructure mode on our phones, using our data plans to play PS3 or XBox360 is considered ok.

    I for one am happy that everyone has been helpful in this thread and nobody's started judging the person.

    I asked a somewhat similar question a few months ago (see thread) and got more judgement than help! :p

    Anyways, I think its awesome that this works and thanks to everyone who has been helpful.
     
  10. cookiesnfooty macrumors 6502

    cookiesnfooty

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Harrogate
    #10
    Judging aside I do hope his connection quality is decent thinking of the others on PSN/Xbox Live.
     
  11. aphexacid macrumors 6502a

    aphexacid

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11

    Maybe because people are starting come out and tell all of the preachers to S T F U if they can't answer the damn question. No one needs a morality lesson on macrumors.
     
  12. Bl0ckHe1d macrumors 6502

    Bl0ckHe1d

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Caledonia
    #12
    silly question - will this work for the ps/xbox using the apple version personal hotspot on the iphone 4?!
     
  13. Pink∆Floyd thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pink∆Floyd

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Up There
    #13
    I installed TetherMe (first time downloading it) and I get the option to turn on Personal Hotspot, it says "additional usage charges may apply" will I really be charged extra?

    Also the WiFi password is "hacked7567"
     
  14. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    Does TetherMe install an app icon like MyWi does?
     
  15. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #15
    No, it just enables the native tethering in the Settings menu.
     
  16. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Thanks
     
  17. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #17
    With MyWi, I cant get other devices like cell phones to see the MyWi hotspot, but my iPod touch will pick up the hotspot

    With TetherMe, every device picks up the built in hotSpot

    So right now MyWi is only good to me for the OnDemand feature that connects automatically to my iPad
     
  18. Pink∆Floyd thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pink∆Floyd

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Up There
    #18
    Sooooo, if I turn on Personal Hotspot within the TetherMe settings, I'm all good right? No charges?

    (sorry I'm a little confused, first time user)
     
  19. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #19
    nope, no charges, I use it all the time
     
  20. redrox5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #20
    Just make sure you turn it on originally from within the TetherMe settings and you're all set!
     

Share This Page